Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


You're sittin' on a stove!

2003-12-04 - 8:47 a.m.

I just got a call from my scheduler. She wants me to work a half-shift this morning. I'm already scheduled for a full shift from noon to nine tonight. I told her, "I don't think so." She has a lot of nerve even assuming I'd be out of bed so early in the morning, don't you think? ;) Ah well, what really gets me though is that she always tries to guilt trip me whenever I say no, and I say no so rarely! The only times I've ever said no have been when she calls me up for same-day shifts or once when she asked me to work a morning shift right after working an evening shift, both over an hour's drive away.

Anyway, instead of accepting that shift this morning, I'm sitting here wearing my contacts. I think maybe they're getting better. I mean, they suck, but not quite as badly as before. I've advanced to being able to look straight ahead as well as down. I still can't look up without pain, but that's something, anyway. I can still see the outline of the contacts though and that still bugs me. I feel like I'm under water or something. And yes, I definitely plan on taking them out before I head out to work this afternoon.

Anyway, I was reading Heather's journal yesterday and she mentioned that she had filled out some survey where after you answer all the questions they will match you up with U.S. cities where you appear to be well-suited to live. Yeah, so of course I took it too. You can find it here at FindYourSpot. Here are my top fifteen cities:

1. Olympia, Washington
2. Tacoma, Washington
3. Greenville, South Carolina
4. Hickory, North Carolina
5. Chattanooga, Tennessee
6. Charleston, South Carolina
7. Bellingham, Washington
8. Kent, Washington
9. Clarksville, Tennessee
10. Asheville, North Carolina
11. Tulsa, Oklahoma
12. Biloxi-Gulfport, Mississippi
13. Seattle, Washington
14. Mount Vernon, Washington
15. Auburn, Alabama

I thought it was interesting that so many of these places are in the South. I certainly never indicated anywhere on the survey that I'm interested in living down there. Not that I have anything against living there other than the fact that it's farther away from my family than I'd like. But it does look like getting my Washington license is a good idea, doesn't it?

Ok, so I watched a little more of Hugh Jackman's Oklahoma last night. I got to the part where Curly (Hugh) and Laurey finally kiss for the first time. She's crying and scared because Jud was just big, mean, and gross to her and then Curly shows up and she runs to him and throws her arms around him and cries on his shoulder and wails, "I don't know what to do!" He says cutely, "Here, I'll show you," and kisses her. They kiss for a while and then she breaks away and gives him a shocked look and he looks at her for awhile and then starts to look disappointed that maybe she didn't want him to kiss her after all when suddenly she reaches out and kisses him again. He's startled at first but then wraps his arms around her and kisses her back. When he comes up for air he says, "Oh my goodness." It's just about the cutest thing ever. "That's just about all a man can stand in public."

Yesterday we finally finished pruning the trees in the front yard. My parents did the first tree while I was working last weekend but then it rained so we weren't able to do the other one. Yesterday I went out and did almost the rest of the other tree. I had to leave a few branches sticking out that were too big for me to cut, but my dad got those when he got home. There are still a few branches on the ground that need to be cleaned up, but we ran out of daylight last night so those'll have to be done later. At any rate, I have a few sore muscles today, but not as much as I expected.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: I Won't Dance - Frank Sinatra
One Year Ago Today: Last morning before

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->