Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Chicks and ducks and geese better scurry

2003-12-03 - 9:16 a.m.

I just wrote a paragraph of stuff pretty verbally abusive towards my optometrist, but I've decided I don't really need to post that. I mean, she's doing her best to help me see, right? I put my new contacts in a half hour ago and you know, they're not that uncomfortable...as long as I only look down and never blink, that is. And, hey, the floor is really nicely in focus down there. My optometrist looked in my eyes when she first put in the contacts yesterday and she said they fit perfectly. I really don't think they do, though. I know I'm still in the getting-used-to-them phase, but it just doesn't seem right. Whenever I blink, it's like my top eyelid grabs ahold of the contact and pulls it up. But then after a moment gravity kicks in and the contact falls loose from my upper eyelid's grasp and crashes painfully down onto my lower eyelid. This can't be normal, can it? Plus I can see it all going on in front of my eyes. I can see the outline of the contacts moving around in front of my eyes. This can't be right. But she said it was. I'm torn. I want to call her up and tell her that this is totally, horribly not right but at the same time, she already told me it is right and that it would take me a few days to get used to it. But how am I possibly going to get used to this? Plus, I'm working tomorrow and the next few days after that and there's no way I'm wearing these contacts to work if they're even remotely this uncomfortable. Oops, hold on, I just looked out my back window and I think I see a picture...

...ok, so the picture I thought I saw didn't turn out as well as I thought it would, but while I was out in my backyard with my camera I was inspired to make a mini photodocumentary. It's called "Things I Can See in My Backyard by Only Looking Down" or simply "Looking Down."

The termite guy came today. I didn't answer the door. What's up with him coming without calling first? I can't really see and I'm not really cleaned up enough that I would go out in public and the house isn't particularly clean either and I just didn't feel like having some stranger trampsing about the place. I probably should've let him in. But I didn't feel like it. Why didn't he call?

I was actually able to help someone the day before yesterday. Someone on Diaryland who normally couldn't care less about me. I probably shouldn't say that since he could, conceivably, come here and read that and resent me saying it since he has never said that, but still. At any rate, I helped him make some of the links in his journal work. In response he wrote in his journal, "we love eucalia," and that has lifted me up quite a bit. Ah, to be noticed!

I talked to DeenPo last night. She's one of those people who whenever I get on the phone with her I know I'm not going to get off for at least an hour. And we spend the entire time talking about everything and nothing. I felt silly, but I asked her how to transfer prescriptions in community pharmacies. I'm a hospital pharmacist, not a community pharmacist, so I never really learned that. But now here I am working quite regularly in community pharmacies and I often have to transfer prescriptions. I always just pretend like I know what I'm doing but let the other pharmacist take the lead. If they are satisfied, then I am too. But now, at last, I know what I'm doing.

Recently PBS showed "Oklahoma!" starring Hugh Jackman. It's a film of a theatrical version put on in London sometime in the late 90's. I recorded it and last night I started watching it. I have to say Hugh Jackman has quite a voice. And he's a lot of fun to watch, too!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Many a New Day - Oklahoma!
One Year Ago Today: "If he can keep his fists up all night..."

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->