Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Dreams move on

2004-01-02 - 11:49 a.m.

This morning we went to Sears and bought my mom a new vacuum cleaner. She keeps insisting we didn't buy it for her, we bought it for us, but we all know the truth. Hey, at least we didn't give it to her for Christmas, right? Anyway, she's excitedly vacuuming the house right now.

I was thinking last night about New Year's resolutions. I read someone else's journal (I don't' remember who's it was, but I think it was one of my non-Diaryland reads which means I don't read it too often because I rarely remember to go there) and they said that they think of New Year's resolutions the same way they think of Valentine's Day. If you need a holiday to better yourself or tell someone you love them, then you have bigger problems. Eh, well, I don't agree. There's nothing wrong with a set time when you can say you're starting over. So what if it's just some arbitrary day? Oh well, I was thinking that maybe I should add another resolution to my usual list (especially since I realize that I'm breaking one of my usual list as I write this). I was thinking of adding "Don't give in to temptation." Immediately after I thought that the first time, though, a little voice in my head added, "Except when you want to." Yeah, great. Except then I wondered, what does that mean? Don't give in to temptation. Gee, I'm so tempted to get out of bed this morning, but I resolved not to so I'd better not. No, of course I know what I mean by it and that's all that matters. I guess I mean not to waste money or waste time or shirk responsibilities. Hmmm, sounds like a pretty good resolution to me. Any chance I'll be able to handle that one?

I had another idea of something I could do for the New Year. I was thinking about making a sort of time capsule for myself. Mostly in the form of a letter. Is this crazy? I was thinking of writing several letters to myself, one for next year, one for five years from now, and then whatever other time periods I decide. And maybe add pictures too. I don't know, it sounded cool in my head as I was trying to fall asleep last night.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: La Musica Notturna Delle Strade Di Madrid No. 6 Op. 30 - Luigi Boccherini
One Year Ago Today: Test drive a geriatric patient today

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->