Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The very breath you gave me

2004-01-25 - 8:59 p.m.

Usually when I go to a restaurant and order something, I get it exactly as it's written on the menu. I don't ask them to hold things or add things or do anything fancy. So tonight when I ordered I had to work hard to not show my embarrassment as I ordered. But hey, a diet's a diet and I'm gonna stick to it. I ordered a barbecue chicken burger, hold the mayonnaise, only one slice of cheese (this restaurant usually gives two), and cut it in half, please. The waiter seemed to not have any issues with my order. But when my food came, it was so incredibly not what I ordered I was astounded. The guy who brought out the food was a mumbler so I couldn't really hear what he said, but when I caught the words "chicken" and "mayonnaise" I indicated that that was mine. Other than the fact that there was chicken in it and it had a bun, it was about as far from what I ordered as possible. The first thing I noticed was that the thing was dripping with mayonnaise. I opened up the bun and inside there was also a piece of chicken and two slices of cheese. And nothing else. There was nothing "barbecue" about it and no onions, lettuce, tomato or anything else one might expect on a barbecue chicken burger. I swear weird things have been happening to me in restaurants lately. Maybe it's a sign I should avoid them altogether.

Anyway, my messed up dinner order was basically the highlight of my day. I mostly spent the day sitting by the fire reading. I'm loving the book I'm reading now. It's a sequel to one I read this summer and it picks up right where the first one left off so it didn't take any time at all to get into the story. And the story's an interesting one.

I did do some exercise this morning, though. After finishing a 5k I added on an extra mile so today's jog was about 4.1 miles. I wasn't really thinking about it at the time, but I think that's me being immature again. It was me saying hey, my dad may be able to run faster than I can, but I can run farther. So neener neener neener. Well, I'm not sure about that last bit. It's interesting, though, when I run, the toughest part is always the first half mile. I feel like my body's fighting me the whole way. It's screaming, "Eucalia! What the hell are you doing to me? You're killing me! I'm dying! Heeelp! No! Don't do this to me!" and on and on. But after the first half mile or so it basically gives in and more or less cooperates for the duration. I usually feel like I could just go and go, albeit slowly. I'm tempted to test this theory, but I have other things I need to be doing with my time.

Tomorrow is Monday which means my dad has to stay out late to go to a class. And we all know that when the cat's away the mice will play, right? My mom and I are planning on going out to see that movie, "The Company." Have any of you seen it?

Ok now, let's see... Diet? Check. Exercise? Check. Good books? Check. What am I missing? Oh yes! A job! Right, I'm supposed to be studying! So tomorrow marks the day when I start studying in earnest. Obviously sticking around my house isn't doing the trick. I've decided that I need to take my studying to a library. But none of the local libraries open on Monday except one which doesn't open until 4. Doesn't do me much good. So I looked it up and tomorrow my plan is to go to a library in a neighboring town. This town also happens to be in a neighboring county. Do you know why this is a good thing? Because I don't have a library card for that county so I won't be tempted to check out books while I'm there. Hooray for fewer distractions! Although...I could get a library card there...

Tomorrow is my third weigh in. Am I nervous? Yes. Do I feel like I've lost weight? Not particularly. But I didn't feel like I had at the other weigh ins either and I had. So I'm hoping I have. Which is horrible because now that I've got my hopes up it'll be even worse if I haven't lost weight. What if I've gained? Eek! Ok, need to change the subject. Or better yet, go to bed and read my book some more. Yes, that sounds good.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Don't Take the Girl - Tim McGraw
One Year Ago Today: Taking on another pharmacist

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->