Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


He dreams you, too

2004-02-10 - 10:44 p.m.

I was thinking today that being here, in my parents' home, is not a good place for me to study. I've never done much studying here. Ever. So I was thinking I should go somewhere. I'd only have to do some serious studying for a few weeks and then I'd be done. I swear that's all it would take if I could just somehow do it. But where could I possibly go? Flik lives in a dorm, so she's out. Tigger's landlady doesn't allow her to have overnight guests, so she's out. DeenPo and the Babe both have families at home, so they're out. I wouldn't mind living with Doodle, but I would mind living with her roommate, Weasel, and I don't think they'd really want me around anyway, so they're out. Either of my grandfathers? Ha ha, no way. That leaves my brother. He has a house in Houston, but he's only there from late Thursday nights to early Monday mornings. That would leave me being basically my sister-in-law's housemate. I wonder how that would work. I wonder what she would say if I asked if her if I could come visit for three weeks. Or there's my brother's apartment in Minneapolis. There's an interesting idea. I wonder...

Anyway, I woke up this morning feeling incredibly uninspired. In fact, I felt so uninspired I didn't even get out of bed. I went back to sleep and woke up again three and a half hours later. Then I read in bed for half an hour before finally getting up at eleven in the morning. I didn't exercise at all today until a two-mile walk early this evening. I have to say my knee also didn't hurt at all today--do you think those two facts are related? When I got online this morning Somnambulist IM'ed me. Imagine Eeyore with an attitude--that's Somn. I stopped reading his journal a while back because I got tired of being depressed by it. But we still IM a bit almost every day. Anyway, this morning I managed to be even more dreary than he was. That's a rarity.

So mostly I spent today reading. I read a whole 330 page novel today. It's called Calculating God and it's by Robert J. Sawyer. His writing reminded me a lot of Michael Crichton's writing--interesting story but not very complex language. The premise for this book is what if aliens came to Earth with proof that God exists? In this story it was actually a whole group of aliens, each with its own special interest that it visited its own part of Earth to research. It was not lost on me that this Canadian author had the alien that was interested in psychiatric illness visit America. At any rate, I posted my official review both at BooksEucalia and at The Book Blog in case you'd like to take a peek. I haven't decided whether or not I'm going to keep both pages going. I'm still waiting to see whether The Book Blog will be successful or not. There are ten reviews posted over there, though, so it's not doing too badly. It's still in need of more reviews from fresh perspectives though, if you'd like to submit a review.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Speed - Montgomery Gentry
One Year Ago Today: I drive alone with my mind

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->