Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


So much time spent wondering

2004-02-13 - 4:21 p.m.

So today I designed a button you can put on your webpage if you'd like to link to The Book Blog. I would give you the code to put it in your page, but I don't know how to make code actually show up here, so sorry. Here's the button, though. No need to upload the image to your own server or anything, obviously that wouldn't affect me here.

Today I did something I've never done before. It's something I didn't know until today I could do. I ran 12K. My pace was incredibly slow, but I did the whole thing without stopping. My main inspiration to do this was when I "accidentally" ran 4.9 miles on Monday and then realized that 4.9 miles plus my usual 2.6-mile loop comes out to exactly 12K (7.5 miles). I took it really easy at the beginning because I didn't know if I would be able to finish if I started out with any effort. It ended up being a good thing because by the end I was thinking that if I slowed from a jog, it wouldn't be to a walk, it would be to a face plant. Anyway, I'd like to do it again someday to see if I can improve my time, but somehow I don't think I'm going to be finishing any marathons any time soon.

Today is my mom's birthday. We went out to Chipotle for lunch and then went to Costco. At Costco I got a new white camisole for $5 which I'm wearing with a yellow blouse I bought yesterday from Eddie Bauer. I'm feeling very springy! I also bought two new paperbacks, neither of which is a book that was originally published recently. One is Firefly Summer by Maeve Binchy and the other is Deception Point by Dan Brown. So now I own all four of Dan Brown's books, but the only one I've read yet is The Da Vinci Code. But that was a really good book, so I'm hoping the rest are good.

So tonight I'm taking my mom out to the Olive Garden for her birthday because that's her favorite restaurant. Hopefully my dad will get home from work soon so we can get there before the crowd. I know he's stopping for flowers on the way home though, at least he'd better be! After dinner we'll come back here and open presents. Did I tell you we ended up buying my mom a new scanner? Yeah, it's really slick. Anyway, Dad just walked in the door so I'd better run.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Take It Like a Man - Michelle Wright
One Year Ago Today: I'm not turning 55 until they...

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->