Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


But pig, I'm all I've got

2004-02-25 - 7:59 p.m.

First things first, I'd like to give a quick shout out to Theresa for not only submitting a review to The Book Blog, but also devoting an entire journal entry to advertising the site and drummed up more traffic to the site than I've yet managed (hint, hint, nudge, nudge). Thanks, Theresa!

Today it rained. And rained and rained. And the wind blew. According to weather.com the wind was blowing at 50mph here with gusts up to 64mph. At any rate, I didn't go out and jog this morning.

But did I lazily sit around the house and do no exercise? No! I dusted off my fitness club membership card and headed down to the gym. I hopped on a treadmill and had jogged 0.8 miles when I heard announced over the loud speaker that they were going to have a step aerobics class in five minutes. I thought what the hell, why not, and went and joined in. And it was fun! I only used one step because I didn't know if I'd be able to handle it or not, but I was fine. I even worked up a bit of a sweat. I had some trouble with the more complicated moves but I picked up the others pretty well. I think I'm going to go back on Friday I enjoyed it so much. And I'm going to add a step and hopefully get down those more complicated moves, too. After the class I went back to the treadmill and jogged another mile. I'm thinking if it's not raining on Friday I'll jog down there and then jog back instead of driving my car and using the treadmill.

Besides working up a sweat and having fun, two other good things happened to me at the gym today. After the step class one of the other ladies in the class came up to me and said, "Wow! You've really never taken a step class before? You're really good. You must be a dancer." I just laughed. Me? A dancer? I'm about as graceful as a walrus on a bicycle. But she didn't laugh, she was serious! She really thought I was a dancer and was surprised that I wasn't! And then later, after I got off the treadmill for the second time, I heard a guy behind me say, "I envy you for being able to run like that." I turned around to be sure he was actually addressing me, but since there was no one else around I was reasonably certain he was. He struck up a conversation and was totally hitting on me. While I was all sweaty and red in the face. Woah! I never get hit on. So anyway, yay for too-tight Costco pants which I wanted to take back but didn't and which now aren't quite as tight as they used to be.

Tomorrow morning, though, I have to go to the dentist to get a filling. Ugh. I'm planning on jogging afterwards, but traditionally I'm pretty out of it after dental work. Maybe jogging will help shake off the effects. To make things worse, the cavity is in a tooth in my upper jaw. That means it'll be harder for the dentist to get to so I'll be more uncomfortable, the shot for it will numb up more of my face, the drilling will vibrate my whole head making it harder to pretend it's not happening, and...anything else? I'm sure there are other downsides to it. I really hate going to the dentist. Sometimes I wish he would give me a Valium or something before hand so I could be a little calmer. Oh, another bad thing about this particular filling is that I still don't have dental insurance so I get to pay for this pleasure out of my own pocket.

Aunt Flo finally came today. All I can say is it's about time. She's six days late. It's incredibly annoying to have to be prepared for her at any moment for a whole week. And also now I know one of the advantages of not having a boyfriend. Being late for my period is annoying, but certainly not worrisome. So I'm glad she came, but damn I'm crampy now.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: (Don't Take Her) She's All I Got - Tracy Byrd
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->