Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The 12,000 gallon cow pie

2004-03-14 - 8:33 p.m.

I spent quite a bit of time this evening messing around with BookCrossing. I've mentioned it here before and I even have a link to it down near the bottom of this page, but I haven't done much with it recently. Basically what it is is a site where you can register your books and then you can give them away and other people can make notes about the book before they pass it on and you can see where your book is going and what other people thought of it. I've registered quite a few books there, but very few have ever had notes entered on them by other people. But yesterday someone entered a note on one of my books. At a thrift shop in Livermore someone bought a book which I donated to my library's book sale. Anyway, that got me back looking at the site and noticing that they've actually updated it quite a bit and it's a lot cooler than it used to be. So I went through and updated the page that lists all of the books I've registered. When BookCrossing was first starting it mostly worked that people would leave their books in public places and hope that someone else would find it and pick it up and go to the website to leave a note. Recently it seems that more BookCrossers are mailing their books directly to each other. I haven't been aparty to this phenomenon yet, but it seems like a cool idea. I'm not sure how it usually works, though. Is it usually a trade so I have to find someone who has a book that I want and also wants a book that I have? Or do people just write to someone who has a book they want and say please send me your book? At the moment my online "bookshelf" doesn't reflect my real life bookshelf hardly at all. I can't really participate in any of these book exchange things if nobody has any clue what I have to offer. But I did find a cool site that makes it easy to create a wish list of books. I created mine so at least other people can know what I'm looking for.

I keep having to remind myself that I don't need any books. But if you do need a book, BookCrossing is offering to send this one to you for free. As far as I can tell there are no strings attached. Neat.

Anyway, today I went with my parents to the Cosumnes River Preserve. The weather was great for walking around and taking photographs. So of course that's what I did. I think I'll finish up this entry by sharing some of those photos.


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: I Wasn't Over You Then - Eucalia
One Year Ago Today: A feather

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->