Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Till every wave is warm and bright

2004-05-08 - 10:56 p.m.

Before I get started, I thought I'd give this a try--I borrowed it from Rachel:

Invent a memory of me and post it in the guestbook. It can be anything you want, so long as it's something that's never happened. Then post this in your journal so that people can invent memories for you.

OK, go do that, and as a reward there are pictures in this entry! Yay!

It's weird the way grouchy moods just come on me all of a sudden. Or maybe I just don't notice them coming on until I'm smack dab in the middle of one. Yesterday I went to the gym, came home and mowed the lawn, then took a shower before my mom got home from work. We went out to lunch at Dos Coyotes in Folsom and then hit the Folsom outlets in search of a new pair of shoes for my mom. We didn't get any shoes, but I did get a new wallet (the snap broke on my old one), a new pair of sunglasses (my dad sat on my old pair), and a new water bottle for hiking (it was just plain cool). Then we went home and dropped off my car, which we were driving, and took my mom's car to get gas (it was $1.99 at Sam's Club, the cheapest place around--my local "cheapie" station was $2.27 yesterday!) and WHAM I was hit by a grouchy mood. I was in full bitch mode by the time we got home. It was horrible. I felt horrible and I was horrible to be around. I was so bad I even got my mom to snap at me, which is very unusual. I went to bed at 9:30 and cried myself to sleep for absolutely no reason at all. And then this morning I woke up refreshed and happy. What the hell? I mean, I love being refreshed and happy, don't get me wrong, but what was up with yesterday?

But anyway today was cool. Guess where I went today!

Was that a big enough hint? :) I went to San Francisco! We went as a sort of pre-Mother's Day celebration. We drove from Sacramento to Vallejo where we ate breakfast and caught the ferry to San Francisco. We walked up Market Street to...uh...some other street and wandered around Chinatown a bit. We got bubble tea in Chinatown, too. I was hoping the bubble tea there would be really good so that my parents would like it, but it wasn't all that great. Oh well. Then we walked back down to Union Square where we went to The Cheesecake Factory for lunch. The Cheesecake Factory in San Francisco is up on the 8th floor of the Macy's building. There were a ton of people there and we waited about 45 minutes for a seat, but when we were seated we ended up getting a seat outdoors on the patio overlooking Union Square! It was gorgeous. This was the view from where I was sitting:

Pretty cool, eh? They were having an art show down in the square.

After lunch we caught the trolley and rode it over the hill to Fisherman's Wharf.

Coming down those really steep hills, sometimes it looks like a roller coaster ride. The drop-offs are so sudden that you can't see the bottom. Like this, for example:

We got off the trolley at the end of the line and walked out to Ghiradelli Square (no ice cream this time, not after Cheesecake Factory!) and then back past Fisherman's Wharf to the ferry terminal.

By the time we got on the ferry back to Vallejo it was 4:30. It takes about an hour to go between Vallejo and San Francisco by ferry. We bundled up in coats and gloves and sat outside on the deck for the whole ride. The sun was shining on us warmly and the boat was rocking with the waves...I could have happily fallen asleep right there. Bye bye, San Francisco, until next time!


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: It's Not Easy - Pete's Dragon
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->