Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Turning to tart

2004-05-09 - 9:19 p.m.

Happy Mother's Day to all you mothers out there! But especially to Alison who just became a mom on April 27th!

I had a pretty good Mother's Day hanging out with my mom. Last night before I went to bed I managed to remember to put out the Mother's Day presents and cards from my brother and I on the kitchen table because I knew I would be the last one up in the morning. When I got out of bed at about 7 this morning, Mom was up and waiting to open presents. She opened them and loved the shirt, liked the book, and was so-so on the DVD. All in all pretty successful! Dad didn't get my mom anything for Mother's Day. At least not that I know of. Maybe that have something else going on that I don't know about. At any rate, she didn't seem even remotely concerned about it and neither did he so I guess that was fine.

We went out to breakfast at Bella Bru in Folsom and then headed out for the last day of the Sacramento County Fair. It's kind of funny that I've lived here for 21 years and never before this year did I know that Sacramento even had a county fair. I thought we just had the state fair. Anyway, we looked at the art exhibits and the kids' science fair exhibits, walked through the vendors attacking us with massage wands and do-it-yourself soda making machines, cheered for little kids competing in some contest where they had to ride their horses as quickly as possible between a bunch of sticks, and of course the best part, we saw all the animals brought in to show by the local 4-H clubs and FFA's.

We didn't go on any fair rides and we didn't eat any fair food. The last time I went on a fair ride other than the ferris wheel was during the incident of the pukey Zipper. And not eating fair food was probably a good thing.

We went home and took it easy enjoying lawn chairs, shade, and good books in the backyard for a few hours and then headed out for dinner. I took my parents out to the Elephant Bar, which is a restaurant pretty close to home that we've never been to. It ended up that the food was excellent and the service was great too. I think we'll probably be headed back there sometime.

I discovered today that when I get a job, I'm going to have to buy a whole new working wardrobe. I was going to dress up this evening just a bit for dinner. I wanted to wear a pair of nice pants. I don't have a single pair of nice pants that fit me. They're all ridiculously baggy on me. The funny thing is that I don't feel any smaller than I was before. I ended up wearing a long skirt instead.

Wanna hear something kinda gross about me and skirts? Actually this is a good thing for me now. But it was gross before. It used to be that I couldn't wear a skirt without wearing pantyhose because my thighs would rub together when I walked and it was painful. Today I wore a skirt without pantyhose and my thighs didn't rub. You would think breakthroughs like this would keep me on track.

Tomorrow morning is my weekly weigh in. I bet I gained weight this week. How could I not? I had two major attacks of the munchies during the week plus I had bubble tea and cheesecake along with an already big lunch yesterday and then a big dinner tonight. I exercised a lot too, but I don't think that'll save me. I feel fat.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Mayberry - Rascal Flatts
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->