Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


What to do with those Transformers

2004-06-17 - 9:01 p.m.

The letter didn't come. I was hoping that the letter letting me know whether or not I passed the law portion of the test would come today. But it didn't. I'll be gone tomorrow before the mail comes, so I'll have to wait until I'm back from Houston before I find out. Which was the original plan before I went and got my hopes up that the letter would come before I left.

So I'm going to Houston tomorrow. I'm pretty much packed. Not much I need to bring. I packed my camera and the cable that connects my camera to my computer (which I usually forget) so perhaps this time I will post pictures of Houston.

I really feel fat right now. Are you sick of hearing me say that yet? Well I do. And worse, I deserve it. I totally oinked today. I don't know why I do that. During the whole time between January 7th when I started the diet and April 10th when I went to Hawaii, I had almost no issues with purposefully overeating. Ever since Hawaii, though, I've been having issues. Why can't I control myself? Obviously because I don't want to. But why don't I want to? I haven't figured that out yet. It pisses me off that I can't squeeze my fat thighs into the jeans I looked good in two months ago. And yet I continue to sabotage myself. Last week I lost a pound and a half, but this week I bet I gained that back. I won't find out because I'll miss my next weigh in. Any chances I'll lose weight while I'm in Houston? I doubt it. But I'm going to try to behave myself. But there it is. I just said I'm going to try. I didn't even say I will. I need another goal. A real goal with accountability. Like being seen on a public beach in Hawaii in nothing but a swim suit.

Anyway, today I started working on a basic cover letter to send out with my CV once I get to that stage of the game. I didn't get very far, but I did at least start it and I did a bunch of reading on how to write a good one and all that. While I was doing it I was thinking how nice it would be to be able to go up there and check everything out personally instead of just looking at stuff on the internet. It would be great to be able to visit the various hospitals and cities before I actually went to interviews. So it crossed my mind that I could go up there and rent an apartment before I actually got a job instead of waiting to get a job before I rent the apartment. The only problem with that, of course, is the whole money issue. I have enough money in my bank account to do that for a few months maybe, but I would be really uncomfortable with the situation. So anyway, I thought maybe I could get a job with a temp agency like the one I worked for here and do temp jobs a few days a week while I'm checking everything out. If the pay for temp pharmacists up there is similar to the pay for temp pharmacists down here, that ought to cover my costs for a while. Anyway, just an idea.

Right now I'm reading a book by John Hersey called A Bell for Adano. It's actually a lot better than I expected. It's about an American army major who is in charge of the occupation of a small Italian town during WWII. I have about thirty pages left in it and I think I'd like to finish it up tonight so I can bring a new book with me to Houston. I packed five books for the trip. That ought to be enough, right?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: If You Ever Stop Loving Me - Montgomery Gentry
One Year Ago Today: Bunker Hill

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->