Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Mutual space occupation

2004-06-16 - 10:09 p.m.

I want to go to Seattle so badly it hurts. In my elbows.

Last night I stayed up until 3am looking at apartments in Seattle and reading about the city. Making plans that may or may not happen. I'm so ready to go.

I talked to Doodle yesterday. She said she was impressed with my bravery for being willing to move somewhere that I don't know anybody. Other than my parents, I don't know anyone here either, I told her.

Anyway, I found an apartment in Seattle that I'm in love with at the moment. Actually, there are no pictures of this apartment, but everything I've read about it seems very cool. For starters, it looks like if I'm going to actually live in the city, I'm going to live in a studio apartment. I can't really see forking over all that extra money just for a bedroom when I have other things I'd like to save it up for. Like a car or a house. I've never lived in a studio apartment so I don't know how that would go. Have you ever lived in one? A lot of the studio apartments in Seattle are tiny. I'm having trouble actually picturing what 400 square feet looks like, but I don't think it's much. I ruled out any apartments that were smaller than that. But this one that I found that I'm currently in love with is actually a 650 square foot studio apartment. And I can rent it for $750 a month at the cheapest, according to the website. That's a bit steep, but not too incredibly out of my league, all things considered. Plus this apartment is right on the waterfront, with parks and miles of bike trails steps away and an easy walk to downtown. I was having difficulties before trying to decide if I wanted to live in the city or outside of the city where it's a tad greener, but I think I've decided that living in the city would be just fine. At least for a little while. This apartment is also very close to several hospitals which have job openings. Probably a bit far for walking, but I could take a bus or probably even ride a bike.

But really I can't look at apartments until I've got a job. And I can't get a job until I get my license. And I can't get my license until I find out whether or not I passed the law portion of the test. You know, I liked it better when I really thought that I wouldn't find out my results for "a few weeks." Then I could just sort of put it off to the back of my mind and not really think about checking the mail every day for results. But since the results for the first half of the test came early, now I'm hoping that the results for the second half will come early too. In fact, I'm thinking that since I took the first half on Tuesday and the results came on Monday and I took the second half on Friday the results should come on Thursday, right? Thursday is tomorrow! Now I'm even looking forward to the mail coming tomorrow. Hurry, hurry mail man!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Big Yellow Taxi - Counting Crows
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->