Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Suffers knowingly, but very slowly

2004-06-19 - 8:51 p.m.

Before I say anything else, I'd like you to take a look at something I saw today in a Houston supermarket:

Unfortunately, when I shrank the picture so it would fit on this page, it made the label blurry enough that you can't read it. But you can see that is rattlesnake there, right? That in itself is nothing I've ever seen in a supermarket before, but the thing that really kills me is the price tag. Taking this guy home with you to whip up a pot of rattlesnake stew would set you back $93.27.

Anyway, the big event for today was driving out to Moorhead's Blueberry Farm to go blueberry picking. It was beautiful out there and the blueberries were delicious. They charged us $1.50 per pound we took home and said we could eat as many as we wanted while we were out there. We ate so many we were all stuffed by the time we got back in the car. Here's me picking a blueberry:

When we got back to my brother's house I found a blueberry cobbler recipe and made that for us to have for dessert. It turned out really well. Those blueberries were awesome. Here's another picture taken on the farm. For some reason I found these color-coded signs to be very amusing. We were only allowed to pick berries from the "blue" bushes today. I don't know, don't these signs just remind you of Candyland?

We also had bubble tea today. My sister-in-law really likes bubble tea too and there happens to be a good place within walking distance of their house. I got a green bean (mung bean) flavored one, which I really enjoy, and nobody else in my family had ever tried that flavor before so I passed it around and let everyone try. Everyone else thought it was disgusting. My sister-in-law's exact words were, "Oh that's just wrong!" Yeah well, I like it.

OK, one last look at the blueberries:


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Let's Be Us Again - Lonestar
One Year Ago Today: To huevos rancheros and Maya Angelou

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->