Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The fields have grown over now

2004-06-30 - 5:17 p.m.

Today is my brother and sister-in-law's third anniversary. It seems like they've been married forever but at the same time I'm thinking, "Woah, three years already?" I never have had a very good grasp on this whole time thing.

My accomplishment in the job hunting endeavor today was e-mailing the three people I'd like to list as references on my CV. I sent e-mails to Milkshake, the Mole, and the guy who was my cardiology preceptor. I haven't talked to any of them in a year so I had to work hard to get the right mix of how-are-you, sorry-I-haven't-kept-in-touch, this-is-what-I've-been-up-to, and please-be-a-positive-reference-for-me. Very shortly after I sent out the e-mails, the Mole responded. I had asked him if he would be willing to let me list him as a positive reference on my CV. He responded by saying, "I would be honored to provide you a very favorable letter (or verbal) recommendation." Woah, honored. Heh, heh, the Mole always has had a flare for the dramatic, but it still made me feel good to read that. I also asked for "words of wisdom" about applying for jobs and his words of wisdom were "be honest." At first I thought, "Yup, that's good advice," but after thinking about it (and most likely overanalyzing it) I started thinking, "Why did he feel the need to tell me that? Does he think I'm not honest?" Oh well, I suppose it doesn't matter. I've yet to hear from the other two, but they have actual pharmacy jobs and don't sit in front of their computers all day like the Mole does. I'm fairly sure Milkshake will say yes to being a reference, but I'm not so certain about the other guy.

This morning I got up early again and went for a jog. I did the 4.15-mile loop today and I did it in 41:30 which is a ten minute mile pace. The funny thing is how sore I am. I know, I was expecting to be sore, but I'm not sore in the places that I was expecting to be sore. I have one sore calf and both of my thighs are sore, but those are expected. What's not expected are my sore knees, sore hips (yes, I have sore joints like an old lady!), and sore abs. Why in the world are my abs sore? Plus I managed to develop a blister on the arch of my right foot today.

Other than those two bits of excitement, I haven't done much today. I helped scrub the deck around the pool so we can actually get the pool uncovered soon, took my car down to have its oil changed, and received a BookCrossing bookring book in the mail. The book I received was The Time Traveler's Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. The copy I was sent is a huge hardcover. It's going to be a bit costly to ship to the next person. Oh well. Perhaps by the time I finish reading it (I have two other books in front of it in line) I'll have a real job and an income! Ok, most likely not, but a girl can dream, right?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Let's Be Us Again - Lonestar
One Year Ago Today: Posing for pictures that aren't being taken

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->