Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


It's not the world that I am changing

2004-07-13 - 10:44 p.m.

Good news for the day: my new hard drive finally shipped. Bad news for the day: no word from the WA board yet.

Today I went on an adventure to San Francisco. OK, technically I was never actually in San Francisco, but I saw it an awful lot. We went to the Marin Headlands, which is basically the area just on the north side of the Golden Gate bridge. When we first got there this morning it was so foggy we could hardly see the bridge, let alone anything else. We didn't let it slow us down too much though. Here's a shot I took while walking up Hawk Hill:

Afterwards we pretended not to see a sign saying that the Point Bonitas Lighthouse was closed and we hiked out to see it anyway. Then we went to Rodeo Beach and while we were there the fog cleared up. This beach is mostly made up of small, smooth pebbles. I picked up a handful (and I tried to add a little mouseover fun here--did it work?):

Since the fog cleared up, we hiked up to Battery Townsley for a view. It always amazes me how well armed that area was. There's a huge battery on almost every hilltop leftover from when they were ready to ward off a Japanese attack. I guess my amazement just goes to show how lucky I am to live in a time and place that lets me feel that I don't need large guns on every hill to protect my coastline. We also visited the Marine Mammal Center since we were there and saw the sick seals. Later we drove back over to the Golden Gate Bridge and went out to the view point. I've lived near San Francisco all my life but I've never been to the view point before. It was pretty neat. We also walked out on the bridge, which is another thing I've never done before. Here's a picture of the bridge taken from down below at Fort Baker where the U.S. Coast Guard is stationed:

We had fish and chips for dinner in Sausalito as the sun went down and then we drove home.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The Change - Garth Brooks
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->