Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The tomorrow we worried about yesterday

2004-07-22 - 11:51 p.m.

You know, right now I weigh twenty pounds less than I did a year ago. Two years ago, three, four...seven even. Ten pounds less than I ever weighed in high school. And yet I weigh ten pounds more than I did four months ago and because of this I feel fatter than I ever have. What's the deal with that anyway? Every time we turn around these days we hear about how fat we are. As a nation there's the whole "obesity epidemic." We've got to stop being fat because it's killing us, they say. But at the same time we're also being told that we should be happy with how we are. This is me--like me for who I am, what I am. But you can't, I'm fat.

Today I took my computer to Best Buy. Mostly just for maintenance. My three-year service plan expires on August 3rd. So I figured I'd take it in whether it needs service or not. I was sort of hoping it would have it's yearly blow up before then, but it didn't look that was going to happen. Last year it happened in September. I remember because my grandfather was in the hospital recovering from bypass surgery. The year before that it happened in June. I remember because I was getting ready to take the CA board exam. Anyway, I told the guy at the service desk that I just wanted "cleaning and normal maintenance." Plus the battery doesn't seem to charge and, oh yes, "I think maybe there might be something stuck in the floppy drive." I'm such a dork. I broke a damn floppy disk in there, of course there's something stuck. So anyway, I'm computerless now. I'm using my mom's to type this.

Instead today I read a book. Want to hear another example of my extreme dorkiness? I read, two nights ago, that Alexis Bledel (Rory in Gilmore Girls) and Amber Tamblyn (Joan in Joan of Arcadia) are going to be co-starring in a movie set to release sometime in 2005. Not only that, but the movie is based on a book. So what did I do? I went to my library's webpage and put that book on hold. Today, after lunch, I checked online and saw that the book was "ready for pickup," so off I went to pick it up. And then I read the whole thing. Ok, yes, it's a young adult book, but it wasn't completely little kiddish and it was 300 pages long. And you know what? It was good too. For the most part. I felt a connection with the characters. Oh, by the way, the book is The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares. I could totally picture Amber Tamblyn as Tibby, but I had trouble seeing Alexis Bledel as Lena. Anyway, I guess we'll see how that goes in a year or so. But really, there was a whole lot of sex stuff in this book for "young adults." Is it just me or back when I was a regular reader of young adult books was there no sex in them? Times they are a-changing?

No word yet from the WA board. But I did balance my checkbook today and you know what? The ten-dollar check I wrote to the CA board to get them to write a letter to the WA board cleared. So something's happening somewhere. I just don't know what. Or where. Oh yes, I also discovered (was reminded of the fact) that the funds in my bank account are quickly dwindling. I'd really prefer if the dwindling would stop. I've once again resolved to stop spending money unnecessarily. I will pay my monthly bills and that's it. Except in early August if I go visit my friends in SF then I'll most likely spend money there. And also I'll definitely be spending money to move to Washington. I just hope I have some left by the time that happens.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Digging Up Bones - Randy Travis
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->