Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Up from impossibility

2004-08-17 - 10:06 p.m.

There was a time in my life when I thought running 12-minute miles was impossible. How could anyone run so slowly? They'd have to be walking, surely. But today I ran five of them. Ah well, what can I expect? It's been over a month since I last jogged (although I haven't been completely without exercise). I set my alarm for six this morning, but it was hot last night so I turned on a fan and then the fan drowned out the sound of my alarm going off. I didn't wake up until 6:45. As a result, by the time I got out jogging, the road construction crew had started work on one of the streets in my route and I had to turn around and retrace my steps. I ended up jogging about 5.2 miles in 1:02:27 which averages to 12:01 per mile. There's an event coming up in mid-September which, if I'm still in Sacramento, I'd like to participate in. There's a 5k and a 12k. I'd like to run in the 12k. Is this possible for me? It's about 7.5 miles. I'd like to try it. Maybe I'd surprise myself.

Other than jogging, today I also payed my bills (and worried a bit about my dwindling bank account), washed all of our cars, and...can that be all? Where did the day go then? Oh, I did some yard work. I actually spent most of the day trying to get my Montana pictures uploaded. No, I'm not ready to post any yet. I should've called Flik today, but I didn't. And no news on the job front.

My mom has to start back to work about a week before my dad does. After my mom starts back to work, my dad wants to spend a few days with my grandfather doing stuff he hasn't decided what yet. And he wants me to go with them. I know it's not good of me, but this sounds absolutely horrible. I don't want to spend time with my dad without my mom as a buffer. I can't talk to my grandfather because he's basically deaf and I don't have a loud voice. Ugh, I need to arrange to be elsewhere during those days. Perhaps a job interview? How long should I expect between turning in job applications and getting a job interview?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: The Star Spangled Banner
One Year Ago Today: No entry :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->