Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


A cover letter

2004-10-05 - 4:39 p.m.

OK, so today while cooking lunch, I managed to burn my finger pretty badly. I've got three blisters on my left index finger, and typing isn't so fun at the moment. So instead, I'm going to do a copy and paste thing and you, my lovely, lovely readers, are going to help me! Sounds fun, doesn't it? Ok, here's the deal. I'm applying to jobs, you know this, but first I need to write a decent cover letter. So I've written a cover letter. Your job is to tell me whether or not it's decent. Sound good? Yay! Here goes:

Dear Pharmacy Manager:

I am a pharmacist and I will be moving to the Seattle area very soon. As such, I was delighted when visiting your institution�s website to discover that the [your institution] has open pharmacist positions. I wish to apply for the position of [pharmacist]. Several items mentioned in the ads for these positions lead me to believe that I am a good match for these positions.

I completed a general practice pharmacy residency at [a hospital], a teaching hospital similar to [your hospital]. Besides performing the typical daily duties of a hospital pharmacist including medication monitoring, I also spent one day a week providing pharmacy expertise in a family practice clinic, as well as spending several months in county-run clinics where I provided one-on-one appointments with patients regarding issues of diabetes, asthma, or hyperlipidemia. During this residency I gained experience teaching and precepting 4th-year pharmacy students from all over the state of California, working with them especially in the areas of pediatrics and infectious diseases.

After completing my residency I spent seven months working as a relief pharmacist in Sacramento. During this period I worked mainly in community pharmacies but I also exercised my flexibility by working in settings ranging from mail order to long-term care to the sole pharmacist in a small community hospital. From these experiences I learned that not only can I successfully be in charge and supervise technicians in a busy pharmacy, but I enjoy the responsibility, too. Through working in various pharmacies I was also able to determine which pharmacy settings I most enjoy�inpatient hospital pharmacy above all, and also ambulatory care clinics�exactly the areas in which you have openings.

Thank you very much for your time and consideration. I look forward to hearing from you regarding these openings. I can be reached at [my phone number] or via e-mail at [my e-mail address].

Sincerely,

[Eucalia]

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: You're in My Head - Brian McComas
One Year Ago Today: They are the center of the universe

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->