Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Leaning on the edge of 'E'

2004-10-08 - 12:50 p.m.

OK, so I told you I wouldn't be back until Sunday. Well, that's true, I won't, I just haven't left yet. I just thought I'd share some pictures with you 'cause it's been ages and you deserve it, you wonderful people!

I mowed my front yard this morning. That's getting to be a less and less pleasant job because of all the tree roots and stuff sticking up that I have to mow around and between. I was thinking that mowing the front yard is exactly the opposite from eating Thai food--it looks good after I've done it, but it's hell while I'm doing it. Anyway, I just mowed the front yard so the neighbors won't think we're slobs, but left the backyard the way it is. While I was putting the lawnmower away in the shed in the backyard though, I looked around and decided I would take some pictures.

There are a ton of mushrooms growing in my yard right now. Mushrooms, I've discovered, are fairly difficult to take close-up pictures of. I think it's because if the varying distance of the edge of the cap and the stalk from the lens so that I have trouble getting both to be in focus. Most of the mushroom pictures I tried to take came out blurry. Oh well. Here's a picture of a mushroom that hasn't quite opened up yet:

And here's another one a bit further along and nearly completely open:

I also took some pictures of my garden. Pretty much it's done all that's left are tomatoes:

I took some pictures of the lantana plant that's growing out there. These flowers remind me of those sugar button candies that I used to eat when I was a kid. You know, the kind that are just a bunch of little dabs of sugar and a long roll of paper. You have to peel them off the paper to eat them, but usually the paper doesn't come off all that well and you end up eating paper too and when you're done eating candy you've got paper stuck in your teeth. Those candies are usually rainbow colors but instead of each candy being a distinct color, they kind of blend one into the next. Yeah, so these lantana flowers remind of that:

You know, I told you I'd be back Sunday, but now I think it's likely I'll be back later than I expected. My grandfather on my mom's side got into a car accident a week or so ago. He rear-ended somebody. Neither he nor the person driving the car he hit are hurt, but his car is totaled and so Grampa's stuck at home with no transportation. His neighbors are really helpful and have been taking care of him, but he's pretty shaken up about it still, so I think we'll probably go visit him later this weekend.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: If Nobody Believed in You - Joe Nichols
One Year Ago Today: If it ain't happened now, it just ain't happen

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->