Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Then turn back around

2004-10-11 - 8:01 p.m.

I think I may be coming down with a cold. I've had a bit of a sore throat and a runny nose all day, and now my head is hurting.

Also, today being Monday, I had my weigh in. I gained three pounds this week. I can't believe it. I lost a pound last week so this puts me back up to H+12. I knew I was going to gain weight this week, but I sure didn't think it would be so much.

Plus, I have fleas. Yeah, what the fuck? OK, so I haven't seen anything hopping around, but I certainly have flea bites. I don't have any pets that could have fleas (I'm fairly certain neither my goldfish nor my snake are responsible for this). I haven't petted any animals since...geez, I don't know, possibly August. I guess I picked them up over the weekend somewhere. Possibly from the hotel room where I stayed? But my parents don't have any flea bites, so I don't know.

As you can imagine, the snot-nosed flea-ridden fat girl was not feeling particular happy today.

Plus the book I'm reading now isn't very good. What's worse than that? Hopefully it will get better.

The book I just finished though, was awesome. I read it as part of a bookring and the girl on the list after me lives in Turku, Finland. Unfortunately, the book is over 800 pages long and doesn't fit into one of the smaller size flat-rate global express envelopes. I had to go for the bigger four-dollars-more-expensive size. But just putting one book in there left lots of empty space. I had to put something else in there, didn't I? Yes, I did. So I went to my local used book store (which I don't frequent) and bought her a couple of books from her wish list. I ended up buying The Time Machine by H.G. Wells and A Separate Peace by John Knowles. Yeah, she had lots of classics on her list. I read the former a few months ago, but I would like to reread the latter. It was required reading sophomore year in high school and I remember it as being one of the few books in high school that the English teacher didn't manage to torture all the fun out of. While I was at the used book store, though, I didn't buy anything for myself. It wasn't too hard, though, really, because they didn't have anything on my wish list and the books weren't particularly cheap. Oh I can't wait to live near a Half Price Books.

I got that all packaged up to send off to Finland, but of course the post office is closed today because it's Columbus Day. Right. Does anybody else actually get that day off?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Perfect Love - Trisha Yearwood
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->