Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Anything and everything a man can unload

2004-10-12 - 9:53 p.m.

Guess what! I applied for jobs today! Seriously!

Yeah, I'm really excited. I applied to five different jobs at three different hospitals. For now I'm going to call them Hospital #1, Hospital #2, and Hospital #3. I know, very original.

OK, so Hospital #1 has my first choice job at the moment. This job was just posted yesterday and its an inpatient job--exactly what I'm looking for. As far as places to work, this location is my second choice, but really I've visited none of these places so my hospital preference is probably pretty nonsensical anyway.

Hospital #2 actually has four job openings that I qualify for, two of which are exactly the same, so let's make that three. The three jobs are in different hospitals which are all part of the same big hospital system. One of these jobs (#2a) is exactly what I'm looking for, but it's in a location that isn't exactly where I want to work. Close enough, but not exactly. The other two jobs are both not exactly what I want to do, but one of them (#2b) is in my third choice location. The third job (#2c)is not in a prime location nor is it even full-time, but I applied to it anyway because if I get it I figure it's getting my foot in the door to get me other jobs in Hospital #2.

That leaves Hospital #3 which is my first choice location but unfortunately they only have outpatient jobs available and that's not exactly what I want to do. I'm sort of figuring on the whole foot-in-the-door theory on this one too.

And all of these preferences are based solely on job description and location, not pay or benefits or anything like that. So yay! I'm so excited (and scared!) about this! I've actually taken a step in the right direction!

Perhaps tomorrow I'll apply for a few more? I don't know if I should or not. I should, I guess. I'll look into it, anyway.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Portobello Road - Bedknobs and Broomsticks
One Year Ago Today: I'm talking 'bout smithereens

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->