Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The deeds of our quest

2004-10-19 - 8:57 p.m.

Last night I couldn't sleep. I tossed and turned until after 4am and then I was wide awake by 7am. Every time I thought about getting up and doing something I felt like I was too tired, but I sure wasn't falling asleep. So one of the things I was thinking about last night was a possible schedule for my upcoming weeks. Note that all of this is unlikely to happen, it's just me dreaming out loud.

So yesterday I mentioned that I got a call from the pharmacy manager at Hospital #3. I didn't call him back today because I was waiting for Hospitals #1 and #2 to call, but they didn't. I've decided that I'm going to call those hospitals tomorrow and tell them that I'm going to be in town next week and ask if they'd like to interview me while I'm there. It seems pretty ballsy to me, but heck if they don't want me they don't want me, and if they do, why not move things along? So after calling them tomorrow morning I'll call Hospital #3 and tell them I'm coming. I'll try to schedule my interview with Hospital #3 for Thursday or Friday of next week. Then I'll stick around during the weekend and do some apartment hunting. I don't know if it's foolish to look for an apartment before I know for sure that Hospital #3 wants me, but I have a good feeling about them.

My brother offered way back that he would come help me look for apartments when I'm ready. Today I hinted unsubtley that two weekends from now would be a fine time to come help me look for apartments. He happens to be free that weekend and said that sure, he'd love to come to Seattle with me, he'd just run it by his wife first. Well, I just finished talking to them and she's decided she wants to come too. And they've booked their plane tickets already. So...I'm apartment hunting in two weeks! The only problem with having my sister-in-law come too is that I was planning on this being a very economy trip and she doesn't tend to do things economy. Plus she's very gung-ho about everything, which is great if I know what I want but not so great if I don't. So I'll definitely have to plan ahead for that weekend.

Right, so all that is definitely going to happen. The dreaming part comes after that. So I figure I go up there and interview next week and they offer me a job, right? I accept the job and also manage to get an apartment next weekend. Then I fly home Monday. My parents take Wednesday through Friday off of that week and we spend Wednesday and Thursday driving up to Seattle with my stuff to move me in. Of course now we don't have a big car so I can't take anything that won't fit in the trunk of a Toyota Corolla, but that's ok because I wasn't planning on taking any furniture anyway. I'd like to buy all new stuff so that I have a real apartment and not a college student's apartment full of unmatched hand-me-downs. If that means sleeping on the floor for a while, so be it. What I don't like is the fact that my parents will have to drive my dad's old falling apart commute car, an 84 Toyota Camry, the whole way. But unless they buy a new car within the next few weeks, there's no other option. I was just thinking about how the very first thing my parents did after buying the Subaru six years ago was to help my brother move to an apartment in Seattle. Wouldn't it be funny if they bought a new car just in time to help me move there? But anyway, we spend Friday getting me settled in and perhaps doing a few touristy things and then they spend Saturday and Sunday driving back to Sacramento to be home for work on Monday. Meanwhile I'm ready to start work--or at least pre-work rigamarole--Monday.

So by that schedule I'm ready to start my new life on November 8th. Ha ha, what do you think of that?

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: She Never Let's it Go to Her Heart - Tim McGraw
One Year Ago Today: Impenetrable darkness

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->