Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Love knows no clime

2004-12-11 - 6:05 p.m.

Today's adventure involved taking the ferry over to Bainbridge Island to go to their library's used book sale. I had originally planned on going alone, but invited the guy to come along if he was interested. He told me no, he's into books and ferry rides and all that, but it was way too early in the morning for him. I was fine with that.

And then this morning he called and said he was coming after all, what time should he be here? I was really happy. He rode the bus to my place and we walked down to the ferry terminal, stopping at Seattle's Best for a cup of coffee on the way. We rode the ferry across the bay and walked through the town of Bainbridge Island, which is very cute and kind of small town trendy if you have any idea what I mean, and then up the hill to the library. We got there about ten minutes early and sat on a bench waiting for the library to open.

The sale itself was much better than I expected. I used to go to a monthly library sale back in Rocklin, California and it wasn't that great, so I didn't expect much from this one. It had actually had quite a good amount of books and the prices were good. I have a feeling I'll find myself at that sale again. I bought 8 books for $4.25. Not bad, eh?

We stopped for another cup of coffee at a cute little place in downtown Bainbridge Island called Blackbird Bakery. It was really good. Too bad that place is on the other side of the bay. But anyway, we took our coffee down to the ferry terminal and sat on a bench while we waited for the ferry to arrive (I'd checked out the schedule for the ferry that left Seattle, but failed to look much at the schedule for the return journey). At any rate, before too long the ferry arrived, we went aboard, and the ferry departed.

The guy and I took window seats and sat yacking away until about halfway to Seattle. At that point an announcement came over the loud speaker. What I heard was, "Blah blah blah blah second mate's office blah blah blah blah blah [my full name]." Me: "What?" The guy, "Is that you?" And then I immediately knew what the announcement was about--my purse was nowhere to be found. I had left my purse on the bench in the ferry terminal on Bainbridge Island. The guy and I managed to find the second mate's office. The second mate informed me that they had sold my purse to the highest bidder on e-bay, ha ha no just kidding, they had it in lost and found at the terminal--what did I want to do about it? I thought perhaps I'd take the next boat back and go get it, what other options did I have? He said they could send it over on the next boat and it could meet me in Seattle. Nice. I told him I'd appreciate that very much.

So now the guy knows what a sieve-brain I am, and that from now on when we go out he should also check to make sure I have my purse before we leave. When the guy and I arrived at the ferry terminal, we had an hour wait for my purse. We went and had lunch at Ivar's fish bar. It was really good. Greasy, but good.

My purse came sailing in on the next boat entirely intact complete with all its contents. I actually never checked for cash, but my driver's license and credit card were there, and that's all I really cared about. Plus my Palm and my hospital badge were there. To whoever found my purse and turned it in for me, thank you. Thank you thank you thank you. May good things come to you and yours and may I help someone as you've helped me.

Next we walked up the hill to the theater. We happened to get there 8 minutes after "Finding Neverland" was scheduled to start, which meant that we were in time to see one preview before the movie started. I loved the movie. I laughed and very nearly cried (the guy was there, I'm not at a stage yet where I could cry with him). And Johnny Depp was looking good. I never really cared for Johnny Depp, but clean cut, yeah. I love his hairstyle in this movie. That long in front thing kills me.

So after the movie I took the guy back to my place. I gave him the grand tour. "This is the living room, that's the spot on the floor where I sleep. That's my bedroom, I never go in there." And then things were awkward so we left and I drove him home.

We have plans to have dinner together on Monday. We have the weirdest, most undefined relationship.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Run - Snow Patrol
One Year Ago Today: The thing must take its course

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->