Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Because they're better than horse chestnuts

2004-12-09 - 5:39 p.m.

So today also wasn't such a good day. Only this time there was no particular reason for it. Yesterday's awkwardness with O'Malley seems to have completely disappeared. If anything odd was going on today, I again didn't notice it, and this time nobody mentioned it to me, and I guess sometimes ignorance really can be bliss.

But I felt really crappy all day. I don't know if it's my cold recurring or symptoms from having taken that FluMist without my immune system being fully up to snuff or what. But it wasn't good. Today was the first day since I've worked here that I was literally watching the minutes tick away and being amazed about how slowly they go. When I got home I collapsed onto my bed on the floor and considered canceling tonight's plans with the guy. I came really, really close to doing it, but then changed my mind.

Instead I got up and went to the post office. I mailed off my renewal stuff for my Washington pharmacist license. So good, that's taken care of, at least. However, today is the first day it has really and truly been rainy here in Seattle since I got here. And I can't seem to find my umbrella. I'm 99% sure I packed it, but I sure can't find it. What's up with me and losing things? That seems to be one of my specialties. At any rate, I figured Seattleites don't use umbrellas anyway, so I headed off to the post office without it.

Of course by the time I got there (about ten blocks away) I was pretty darn wet. From there I went to the nearest Bartell Drugs and bought myself an umbrella. They had one there that a portion of the purchase price would go towards supporting breast cancer research. Since my grandmother died of breast cancer and my mom is a breast cancer survivor, it's pretty definite that one of these days breast cancer and I will have a run in. For this reason I have a somewhat vested interest in it. Unfortunately, the umbrella is pink and white striped. I am not a pink and white sort of girl. But I swallowed my non-pink-and-white pride and bought the umbrella anyway. So then I was walking around downtown Seattle carrying a pink and white umbrella.

I have to say, it felt decidedly non-Seattlean. But on the other hand, it also felt dry.

My next stop was Tully's. I'm getting behind on my reading so I decided to stop in, buy myself a nice warm double-shot mocha, sit down in one of their cozy chairs, and read. Well, I ordered a double-shot mocha, but I only got a single shot. And all the cozy chairs were taken. But I did get a mocha and I did have a fairly comfy chair and I did get two more chapters read.

I'm reading Catch-22. It's not at all like what I expected. I'm not sure exactly what I expected, but this certainly isn't it. It reads like it could've been written by Douglas Adams or Terry Pratchett. It's just plain odd. Weird things happen all the time for no apparent reason. But at the same time, it also has interesting points to make about life and the world we live in. Today I read the quote, "I'm going to live forever or die trying." I'm sure I've heard that before, but now I know where it came from. And there's also a character who's philosophy on life is that the only way to have a long life is to be bored and/or miserable all the time. If it feels longer, then it is longer, he says. It's set during WWII and the main character is constantly trying to figure out why people he doesn't know are trying to kill him. It's really odd. But then I've only read four chapters so far so I guess I can't really make any judgements.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Tainted Love - Soul Asylum
One Year Ago Today: Squinting to see

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->