Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Same old moon up high

2006-04-16 - 10:12 p.m.

Happy Easter! I didn't really do much to actually celebrate Easter today...not that I should, since I'm not a Christian. What does Easter mean to me? Hmm...it means it's the first Sunday after the first full moon after the Vernal Equinox...guess that's not too exciting either. It means its the end of candy season, that's what it means. You know, candy season. It starts at Halloween and goes right on through Christmas, Valentine's Day, and Easter. No more reason to eat candy since the next holiday isn't until the 4th of July and that's more of a BBQ holiday than a candy holiday.

Last night Lolo spent the night and this morning, for once, I let him sleep until he was ready to wake up. I'm an early riser by nature. I almost always wake Lolo up when we spend the night together. Today I decided to let him sleep. We walked down to the Pike Place Market for lunch and bought gyros at the Greek place there, took them down to Victor Steinbrueck Park to eat them. We had brought books to read at Myrtle Edwards, but the direct route was closed due to construction so we ended up going the long way. We wrapped in each other on a park bench and read until the sun went behind a huge cloud and it got too cold. We walked back to my place and wrapped up in each again for a nap on my couch. Then we made dinner and watched the movie "2010." And then Lolo went home. Ah, what a lazy day!

Friday night I worked until midnight. Lolo came by and walked me home from work and spent the night. We both had this entire weekend off. I wanted to go to the Tulip Festival up in Skagit Valley this year and it looked like this would be the best time schedule-wise for us to do it. Of course it turned out not to be the best time weather-wise, but around here you learn quickly not to expect much from the weather. We went to the Tulip Festival in the rain. Mostly this involved walking through fields of tulips of every shape, size, and color imaginable in the rain, wind, and mud. Fun stuff! It was actually quite beautiful:

I tried to get pictures showing off the whole atmosphere of beauty and misery intermingled. Some pictures showed it better than this, but this is one of my favorite "wet" shots:

This is me taking pictures as seen by Lolo:

And the picture I took while that picture was being taken:

They also had a barn full of crafts and food at this particular place. We went back inside to warm up for a while. I bought hot chocolate for us both and made Lolo buy me an "elephant ear" because I'd never had one before or even heard of one before moving to Washington last year. An elephant ear is basically a big flat piece of fried dough with melted butter and sugar on top. This is not something you can get in California. I wonder, is this something you can get in other parts of the world or is this peculiar to the Pacific Northwest?

We ended up only stopping at one tulip place. There were others, but we'd pretty much had our fill at the first. We tried to stop at a cheese factory for a tour, but it was small and the tour was already full so we moved on. We stopped at an alpaca ranch, too. Since it was raining all the alpacas were indoors. Definitely cute.

We drove back to Seattle, had dinner at Thai Ginger and then watched "V for Vendetta." I actually quite enjoyed the movie. Possibly because I expected very little from it. Yes, there were parts I didn't like, but over all, it was enjoyable.

I know I've had a pretty long hiatus from Diaryland. Mostly it's because of Lolo. He's been spending more nights here than not, it seems. Don't get me wrong, I'm not complaining, I love having him here, but while he's here, I'm much less likely to be writing Diaryland entries. Also, during the time since I wrote here last, I took a trip to California for five days. I went to the ACCP meeting in Monterey for their BCPS prep course. I think I'm going to try to take the exam this October. Scary!

One Good Thing: Sleeping in 'til 11:30
Song of the Day: Politically Uncorrect - Gretchen Wilson & Merle Haggard
One Year Ago Today: Don't you waste me in the ground

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->