Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


And the ears of a cow!

2005-01-07 - 1:48 p.m.

Today is Friday. Thank goodness. I'm not sure I'm cut out for this swing shift stuff. Maybe if it was my schedule all the time I would get used to it, but so far I'm definitely not. The first night I worked it, it wasn't too bad, but for some reason last night was really hard. I was so sleepy. And that's definitely not a good thing. But I do like the people on swing shift and the job is still definitely busy so it's not boring or anything. I'm still considering requesting it permanently. My schedule right now is variable because most of the pharmacists in my hospital want to work days so we have to rotate who has to work evenings. If I requested evenings, then I would have a permanent schedule and it would make a whole bunch of other people happy too. But if I worked evenings there would be a whole bunch of stuff I would have a much harder time doing, like seeing shows, going to volleyball open gyms, and going out to dinner with people. On the other hand, if I worked evenings I could sign up to take some classes at a JC or at UW and know that I'd actually be able to attend classes. I still need to think about this.

My main complaint about my schedule right now is that I feel like I can never get anything done outside of work. Since I get off at midnight, there's little I can do after work. And I don't do much before work because I'm a bit paranoid about being late to work. I think if I did this all the time, though, I'd get better about doing things before work and knowing how much time I would need to get ready.

So I've been trying to get serious about losing weight again. I recently re-read an entry that I wrote about a year ago. I said that my goal was to make it down to 150 pounds and possibly to 140 if I could manage it. At that time I weighed just under 170 and at my lightest point last year I weighed 140.5. Now I'm hanging around 150. I'm 5'10", by the way, just to put things into perspective. Anyway, my goal this year is to make it down to 140 and 130 if I can manage it. I don't think I'd ever want to weigh less than 130, and in fact 130 might be a little below where I want to be.

So in this vein, I've been trying to get back into the swing of things as far as running goes. I ran around the lake twice Monday and once Tuesday. Wednesday and Thursday I ran on the treadmill here in my apartment complex after work (it's nice, I can have the whole gym area to myself at 1am). This morning I got up and ran once around the lake. And tomorrow I'm planning on running around the lake with Duke. It'll be interesting to see how that goes. Hopefully I will keep up these good exercise habits, but I haven't been doing too well on my eating habits. I have to cut that down soon, too. Oh, and I've also been working on my abs. They're so sore right now. And my foot is also very sore. I'm getting so old.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: One Step Away - John Montgomery
One Year Ago Today: You should try it in heels!

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->