Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


That was you who was there

2005-03-04 - 7:04 p.m.

Sometimes I think that its not so much that I'm not lonely, but more that I've been lonely for so long that I don't remember what it's like to feel any other way.

It's Friday today. It doesn't feel like Friday. I'm working tomorrow because I volunteered to pick up a shift for overtime. I've been doing quite a bit of overtime recently. I stayed an extra 45 minutes of overtime today just because it was busy. Not much, but its something. My bank account is growing, which is good. Can you believe I've been here three and a half months?

After work today I went to the grocery store again. I bought more cheap bananas. But really my reason for going was that I forgot to pick something up last time I was there. So I went to the store with three things on my list to buy. When I got there I could only remember two. I have such horrible memory.

So at work today two things that are relatively good for my self-esteem happened. Miko was lead today and there was me and one other pharmacist working with him. He asked the other pharmacist to "cover the counters" while I "stayed on the dials." I don't actually even know what the literal meaning of "staying on the dials" is, but basically what he meant was that the other pharmacist should interrupt her work to check the technicians' work while I kept right on working without interruption--meaning that I'm accomplishing more while I'm working so I shouldn't be bothered. The main reason why this is cool is because for so long it was the other way around. I was always the one covering the counters. So yeehaw! The other cool thing was when Blanche came down to help cover for lunch breaks. Miko was teasing me by saying that a particularly long group of orders were "meaning that Yuki needs to work harder." Blanche had just arrived and didn't realize that Miko was only teasing me. She said to him, "No, she's good. I like working with Euc." It really doesn't take much to make me feel good, does it?

Another part of my reason for going to the grocery store after work today was that I'm working tomorrow. I decided to bring cookies to work, only I don't really feel like baking. So I went and bought the pre-made kind where all you have to do is bake them. Remember when those used to come in a tube and you'd have a log of cookie dough to slice up to make cookies? Man, they don't even do that anymore. They come pre-sliced and everything. You just slide them from their little cardboard sheet onto your baking sheet and stick them in the oven. Where's the fun in that?

Yesterday I bought myself a bike rack for my car so now I will be able to take my bike places. I'm excited about this. I love where I live, but riding my bike around here scares me to death. There are so many bike trails around, but I'm scared to bike to them! So now my problem is solved! Almost. Sort of. Well, for starters I bought my bike rack online from REI.com. I had a 20% off coupon so it made the price relatively decent. And then I opted for in-store pick up so I wouldn't have to pay shipping. Which is good except that I can't pick it up until next Thursday. Oh well. I only have one day off work between now and then anyway. And besides, I still haven't actually gotten my bike fixed. Did I mention that my parents are coming to visit me? Well they are, and I'm sort of hoping that while my dad is here he will help me to get it fixed.

So yeah, my parents are teachers and their spring break is coming up in a couple of weeks. During their break they're going to drive up here and visit me. That should be cool. It'll be a definite reason to actually clean my apartment. Right now there's stuff in here that literally hasn't been touched since they were here in November. I'm so bad, I'm preparing a list (so far only in my head) of handy-man type things I'd like my dad to help me with while he's here. I guess dads can come in useful after all :) Actually, they're coming two days after my surgery. I'm fairly certain they're not coming because of the surgery--that they would've come even if I hadn't had the surgery. I think I did a pretty good job of convincing my parents that my surgery thing was going to be no problem and that I'd be just fine on my own and that I was totally cool with it and not scared at all. That was before they told me they were coming. Now I'm a little worried that I'm going to be feeling like crap when they're here and that's going to suck.

Anyway, as a "reward" for making it through this entry, I've decided to add a few pictures. I was trying to show how beautiful my drive to the grocery store can be. Unfortunately, I really couldn't get it with my camera. I tried though. In these pictures you can see the Space Needle, the Puget Sound, the Cascade Mountains and the sunset...if you know what you're looking at. Otherwise you just see traffic. Actually, I lied, in the first one you can't see the sound, but you can see it in the second one.

And then on the way home I took some more pictures just for fun. The first picture was taken right outside Half Price Books and the second picture was taken right outside my apartment building.

Images hosted by Photobucket.com

Images hosted by Photobucket.com


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: My Give A Damn's Busted - Jo Dee Messina
One Year Ago Today: Because there is no reason why

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->