Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Tight yellow undies

2005-07-05 - 7:21 p.m.

Today I got excited because there were seven meatballs in my Swedish meatball microwave dinner instead of the usual five. Oh my god.

However, immediately after lamenting the fact in my last entry that I had absolutely no plans for the 4th of July, I was invited to a BBQ at the house of someone I work with--one of the techs who I'm going to call Licorice. I caught a ride with someone else I work with--a tech who does per diem work out my hospital who I'm going to call Jellybean--but her car broke down on the way there! We were on the freeway and suddenly smoke started spewing from underneath the hood. We made it off the freeway before the car died completely. There was nowhere to pull off the road, though, so we called for help and then sat there in the lane with the flashers on until a police officer came and pushed us out of the way with her car. Then Licorice's husband showed up and towed us to his house where we partied. Their house is out in Lynnwood (15 or so miles north of the city) on the top of a hill and from their back porch you can see the city. The plan was to watch the fireworks from there, but it didn't quite work out that way for us. At around 7pm Jellybean's niece showed up to give her a ride home. I had a choice of going home with them then or waiting until after the fireworks and getting a ride from somebody else--and there wasn't anyone there who hadn't already been drinking. So I went home at 7.

It seemed like a good idea anyway because I had to go to bed by 9 last night in order to get in 8 hours of sleep before work today. And I was good, too. Even though the sun doesn't set until 9:15 or so and I had stayed up til 2am the night before, I still went to bed at 9. And at 10 the fireworks shows began. There's one out on Elliott Bay and another one on Lake Union. The explosions were so loud my windows were rattling. That lasted until about 10:45 and then of course there was general yelling and laughing and singing from everyone until at least midnight. Let's just say I didn't get 8 hours of sleep last night!

Today I worked tele, but it wasn't bad. The census in the hospital is way down. Bad for the hospital, but good for me and definitely good for patients! I was very nearly done with all my work before lunch. Which is saying a whole lot because I'm usually not done at the end of the day even when I skip lunch. And also today I attended four codes! That's a record for me in one day. And none of them died--hooray!

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Some Say - Rascal Flatts
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->