Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


We'll run for our lives

2005-07-23 - 8:12 p.m.

Today I did Mailbox Peak. That was fun. Not the most exciting hike I've ever done and not the most fantastic view I've ever seen, but still pretty darn cool. And it really was a bit of a buttkicker. I mean, it was 4000 feet straight up. No switchbacks. Just up and up and up and up. And up. Phew! Actually, though, down was much worse. Although I was out of breath for practically the entire hike up, my legs really never got tired. Definitely no pain. But down, oh my poor knees! And my poor quads! I just might be sore tomorrow. We ended up having five pharmacists from my hospital go on this little excursion. Me, of course, plus Buzz and Lolo as planned, and Frosty made it (yay!) and also at the last minute Kitten decided to go too. I definitely had a good time.

Oh, hey, did you notice what I added to the lower left side of this screen? Yes, a live webcam of the view from here! Well, it's the view from the Seattle Times office building, but that's only a few blocks from here so it's practically the view from here. Plus you can click on it and get a larger version. Pretty neat, eh?

So yesterday I posted a whole bunch of pictures from my last camping trip on Photobucket to share with you, but I never had a chance to get to Diaryland and give you the links. So today I'm going to give that a go. For those of you with slower connections I apologize, this is going to be a fairly picture intensive entry!

Ok, so let's start out with Cape Flattery. This is the northwesternmost point in the continental United States. I thought it was really beautiful (too bad it was pouring rain) and I'd love to go back and explore the place in a sea kayak.

The next picture is actually one my brother took. It was taken near Cape Alava on our little 9-mile hike along that area.

And this one is just for fun. This is my brother taking a picture with his fancy schmancy camera. If you click on him, then you can see the picture he took. Weee, isn't this fun?

And now I'll move on to the North Cascades and the Cascade Pass Trail. I'm having trouble deciding which pictures to post so...

My dad and I went up slightly higher than Cascade Pass up towards Sahale Peak. We got up just high enough to see down into Doubtful Lake and then turned around and went back to my mom who was waiting down below. I'd like to go back someday and swim in that lake. What do you think?

Bye bye! (My brother, me, and my dad)


One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Nothing to Lose - Josh Gracin
One Year Ago Today: The problem isn't the problem

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->