Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Looks like all I got is lonely

2005-07-25 - 11:11 p.m.

Today was not entirely uninteresting. I actually had a date, believe it or not. I'll tell you all about it, but first, pictures! Yeah, I know, you're so sad because I've been so unwilling to share pictures recently. Anyway, these pictures that I'm posting were not actually taken by me. It turns out that Lolo is pretty handy with a camera. I told him how to post photos online while we were hiking and I'm fairly happy to find that he actually listened to me. So here are some pictures he took of our hike to Mailbox Peak. (Hopefully you'll be able to see them from where they are without me having to upload them to photobucket.)

For starters, here it is, the mailbox:

Here's me part way up the hike looking out over Mt. Rainier:

And I think this one illustrates a bit of how steep the trail was (from left to right this is Buzz, Kitten, me, and Frosty):

Ok, enough pictures. Let's talk about the date. Can I call it a date? I suppose I can. We went and played in the park. How cute is that? Anyway, we met at Green Lake and tossed the frisbee around a bit. Then we found a picnic table and ate strawberries and played Connect Four.

It was fun. I especially enjoyed the frisbee bit. I wasn't swept away, though. But that doesn't seem likely, ever.

So positive things about this new guy: 1) very smart--he doubled majored in physics and some sort of engineering and now has a job designing/building machines that build airplanes 2) tall, fairly nice body 3) not bad looking 4) loves to read 5) likes to do outdoorsy things and thought playing in the park was a good idea for a first date 6) doesn't smoke/drink/do drugs

And some negatives about this new guy: 1) he's young...2 to 3 years younger than me 2) he's got a bit (!) more hair than I would like--long hair that was pulled back in a ponytail covered by a bandana plus a longish goatee 3) not good at making small talk--ok, so actually after we get to know each other better this won't be a problem, but I found it weird to be the more talkative part of the duo

I honestly thought I bored him today. Plus I haven't been sleeping much for the past six nights (due to intestinal issues which I'm sure you don't want to hear about) so I was looking particularly ugly and feeling particularly old.

After we left, I did a little grocery shopping and hit REI (bought a few toys) and when I got home I had an e-mail message from him. It was short and to the point. It said, "Feel like doing something together again? I don't know what yet, I just thought I'd let you know I wanted to, so you wouldn't have to wonder."

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day: Desperately - George Strait
One Year Ago Today: Little bit of live, little bit of learn

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->