Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Left over from the night before

2005-07-29 - 8:33 p.m.

I've been having a lot of fun recently playing with my new pedometer. As I mentioned before, it plugs into my computer and automatically downloads all my info to a particular website where everything is all graphed out for me. And the graph is clickable so I can zoom in on the interesting bits and analyze the information a little more closely. So, for example, a section of today's graph looks like this:

It's starts off around 2 when I was at work. I walked up and down the stairs a few times, but mostly I just sat and stared at a computer screen. At 4:30 I walked home and just after 5 I walked to the store and back. And then at 6:30 I jogged around Green Lake. Isn't this exciting? Heh heh, well, it entertains me anyway.

Another thing I find exciting is that I finally bought myself a hydration pack. I went to a place called The Seattle Running Company, because I wanted to spend my money on something that actually works and I figured they would know. I have to admit, I felt a little dorky walking in there, like what's the fat girl doing shopping in a running store, but the employees were very friendly and helpful. I ended up buying one made by Amphipod called the SnapFlask2. Looking back, I should've bought the SnapFlask3, but at the time I didn't know if I would like it so I settled for the SnapFlask2. This one is a neoprene belt which has little clips that little 8 ounce flasks clip into. You can put them on vertically or horizontally and you can buy more flasks and pouches or "gel modules" to add on. So I tried it out today for my jog around Green Lake. At first I had it strapped around my paunch and I was thinking, "This is great! It doubles as a girdle!" But the moment I started jogging it slid right up to my narrowest section. So I tightened it up so it wouldn't jounce and it ended up being an anti-girdle, making my fat bits stick out even more than usual. Other than that, though, it was wonderful! When it moved up it was on my skin instead of on my shorts but it didn't chafe at all. Jouncing was minimal and not bothersome. And I was able to remove and reattach the flasks while jogging with no problem. Hooray! If you're in the market for a running hydration pack, I definitely recommend this one.

Tomorrow my hospital is going paperless. This means that every little thing anybody does is going to be documented on a computer and nowhere else. All the orders the doctors write will be submitted via computer. This is a very big change. We don't know exactly how it's going to affect us (the pharmacists), but it will likely change everything. It's like starting a whole new job--only I know all my co-workers and where the bathroom is already. Anyway, that starts tomorrow at 7am and I'm there for the kick off. Wish me luck!

One Good Thing: My new hydration pack doesn't chafe or jounce!
Song of the Day: Keg in the Closet - Kenny Chesney
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->