Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


It's gonna make it hard

2005-07-30 - 10:14 p.m.

It's way past my bedtime, but I thought I'd come here just to record my thoughts on the day just for prosperity.

I just got home from my second date with the guy from the park. We made dinner at his house. He barbecued some chicken breasts and I chopped some veggies and we had grilled chicken sandwiches and salad. That was good. Then he took me over to where he works and showed off his gizmos. He works for a company that designs and builds machines that build airplanes. Of course these machines are huge and have large moving parts so they're good for showing off. And he took me up in a "man-lift." I have to admit that scared me, but I don't think I showed it. Anyway, so all of this was just fine. No significant chemistry happening, but not horrible.

But then the end! Maybe I'm overreacting, but I was appalled by his lack of manners. So he drove me back to his place and I followed him in to grab my salad-making tools. We got to his kitchen and I started making "thank you for the evening" talk. He poured himself something to drink without offering me anything (not that I would've accepted, but still). When we had come back inside we had come in through the garage, which required going around a corner and up a flight of stairs. Nothing was happening so I asked, "Should I go out the front door or the way we came in?" He stood there drinking his drink and said, "Either way. If you go out the front make sure you lock it on your way out." That's it. Not a move to accompany me to my car or even show me to the door. I said goodbye and left and he never budged. Reason tells me to attribute this to shyness and him wanting to avoid the awkward goodbye kiss/hug/whatever issue. But reason doesn't always win.

Anyway, the other thing of significance that happened today was my hospital going paperless. It actually went fairly smoothly. Not completely without hiccups, but overall not bad at all. Management bought us all breakfast and lunch (and dinner for those who were there) today. That was nice of them, but then we were so busy that we could barely get away from the pharmacy. And of course there's the no-eating-in-the-pharmacy rule and the managers were there to enforce it. So instead of being a nice treat for us, it ended up being more of a torture, being taunted with free tastey food that we didn't have time to eat. I ended up taking about an 8-minute lunch break. The good thing about that is that means a bit of overtime, at least!

I also managed to get out and jog once around Green Lake again today. That makes my 4th jogging day in a row. I feel so much better when I'm exercising, I don't know why I ever stop. And why is it so hard to start again once I stop? My next half-marathon is scheduled for the end of September. If I keep this up I should be in good shape by then. This race has an "Athena" division for women over 150 pounds. That's so embarrassing. Of course you don't have to sign up for it even if you qualify for it, but my goal is to not qualify for it by race day. I'm not entirely sure that's possible for me, though. I'd have to lose a pound a week between now and then. I'd have to have no slip-up weeks. I'm going to give it a go, though. And did I mention that I'm thinking of trying to run the Seattle Marathon in November?

One Good Thing: My hospital survived the first 8 hours of CPOE
Song of the Day: As Good as I Once Was - Toby Keith
One Year Ago Today: You're welcome at my fire anytime

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->