Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Loving just who you are

2005-08-19 - 1:42 p.m.

Not much has actually happened since I last updated you. Tele service has been pretty light. Even though I've taken my full 1-hour lunch break I've still been finished with my work very early. I end up spinning my wheels a bit because once I'm done, I really have nothing else to do. Other pharmacists have other projects they're working on all the time that they can work on in their free time. I don't. Not that I'm complaining. Maybe I'm a bad pharmacist, but I have no issues with not having to do more work. Unless perhaps there was a raise involved? I guess I'm not that selfless after all.

The other day I went out and bought a used copy of the fourth Harry Potter book at my favorite used bookstore. They didn't have a paperback copy available, which is what I really wanted, but I was anxious to start reading it as someone is sending a copy of the 6th book my way soon and I've pretty much forgotten what happened in the 4th and 5th books so I want to reread them. (Do you ever wonder why I bother reading anything when I can never remember much about it later?) Anyway, I ended up buying a used copy of the hardback two days ago. Then yesterday I spotted a new copy of the paperback at Fred Meyer for less than I payed for the used hardback. I broke the cardinal rule of shopping! Once you've spent your money, stop comparing prices--it's likely to cause heartache.

Yesterday I got myself out and went running again. It had been about two weeks. I'm planning on going again today. I have this schedule that I downloaded from the internet of workouts that I'm supposed to do and if I do them, says this website, I will be able to complete a marathon by the end of November, which is when the Seattle Marathon is. This schedule just started this week, I think, so I'm not too far behind yet. I'd better get with it soon though, if I'm going to do it at all. Yesterday I only ran 3.2 miles because I wanted to take it easy since it had been so long. I haven't even looked at the schedule since last weekend, but I'm sure I'm supposed to be going farther than that. The main problem with this schedule is that it prescribes specific distances that I'm supposed to run, but I don't have any measured courses. Should I just find a track and run around in circles? The shortest distance on this schedule though is about 4 miles...16 times around the track would get awfully boring. Or I suppose I could run on a treadmill--but that's even more boring than a track! The Burke-Gilman has mile markers, so maybe I'll start running out there. It's just a bit more of a drive than I'd like.

Speaking of running, my running buddy Kitten has recently started working in the OIC (outpatient infusion clinic), which is the place where people go to have chemo and whatnot when they don't need to be admitted to the hospital. The OIC is in the same building as the hospital, but they have all their own stuff over there so they never need to come over to the main pharmacy area. So basically I never see Kitten anymore. This makes me a little sad. Plus, I don't know if she's still planning on running the half-marathon at the end of September. I still am whether she does or not, I think, though. And also, I think she talked Lolo into doing it and he's planning on it too. And as for the Seattle Marathon? That's probably even less likely to happen with her. I don't know, we'll see. Maybe I won't even do it either. I won't for sure if I don't get my act together here!

Oh, and speaking of getting my act together, today is Friday, which means that this morning was my weigh-in. Remember how I talked about needing to not have any slip-up weeks in order to not qualify for the Athena division for the half-marathon? Well, I had a slip-up week. Actually, I'm fairly relieved that the damage isn't worse. It really was a bad week. The worst part is that having a slip-up week really takes two weeks out of my weight loss schedule because one week is spent gaining the weight and then the next is spent re-losing it. Sometimes I think I know a bit of how an alcoholic or maybe a smoker feels. When I'm binge-eating I know that I shouldn't and I know I'll regret it later and I feel bad about it, but I just don't want to stop. Not at that moment anyway. Why is that? It doesn't make any sense.

One Good Thing: I ran around Green Lake twice
Song of the Day: A Real Fine Place to Start - Sara Evans
One Year Ago Today: Coming like a warm front

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->