Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Tummy hair

2006-10-11 - 11:39 a.m.

Despite having done practically nothing yesterday, it still may have been one of the best days of my life. I was so extraordinarily and simply happy.

I stayed up a bit late Monday night and got up a bit early Tuesday morning, trying to make myself be a little tired for Tuesday. Combined with not much sleep Saturday or Sunday nights due to work and a cold, and no caffeine, it worked out for a moderately sleepy Tuesday. This was perfect because at 8am, right after he was done with is 7th 10-hr graveyard shift in a row, Lolo came over to my place and I was expecting him to be tired. After some hello kisses and hugs we moved to the couch where Lolo fairly promptly fell asleep wrapped in and around me. I never quite nodded off, but I was sleepy enough to be content just laying there holding him.

The unfortunate thing about gravity, though, is that while laying entangled with somebody else, eventually limbs are going to fall asleep. It actually took two hours before he woke up and we moved to my bed to be more comfortable. (Tiny bits of sex talk coming up if you want to skip the rest of this paragraph) We snuggled a bit but didn't fall back to sleep. Lolo doesn't particularly like me playing with his tummy hair, but for some reason it's something I enjoy doing. So we were laying there, lazily and I asked him, "Can I play with your tummy hair?" Playfully he said, "No!" and rolled over so his back was facing me so I couldn't get to his tummy. So I started playing with that little patch of hair on his lower back and said whinily and definitely playfully, "I was only asking..." He sighed theatrically and rolled back over, "All right..." So I played with his tummy hair for a little while then moved up to his chest hair then back to his tummy hair. Meanwhile he lay unmoving and I thought he was dozing off. So I eventually slowed and stopped what I was doing until I was just laying beside him with my hand resting on his tummy. He reached up and covered my hand with his, then slowly began moving my hand downwards below his waist, where I hadn't gone at all today because I thought he would be too tired for that sort of thing. I was surprised and unsure because, as I've said, I thought he was too tired, and also because he's never done that before. I have occasionally put his hands on me where I would like them to be, but he's never put my hands anywhere. When I got there, I discovered that he was ready for action, and well, things took off from there.

Afterwards we got up and got dressed for the day. He walked with me down to the post office where I mailed a book for a trade with someone from Bookcrossing. Last week, for some reason, I decided to catalogue all my books. I discovered that I have nearly 550 fiction novels on my shelves. I sent an e-mail to Lolo telling him so and also told him that at the rate I read books, it would take me over 13 years to finish them all. So he suggested that we pick a time, say six months, and not buy any books during that time, only read books we already own. It was amazing, my immediate revulsion to the idea. But, really, it's a good idea. I have so many books, I surely don't need more. And I'm sure there isn't a single book in this world I don't own that I won't be able to wait six months before reading. Unfortunately, he gave us one week to buy anything else we wanted before the start of our six-month book hiatus. So I went to paperbackswap and frugalreader and got as many books from my wish lists as were available, then went to Bookcrossing and arranged trades for as many more as I could find people who were willing to trade, then went to Amazon and put all the rest of the books on my wish list in my shopping cart. Sense returned, though, before I made my purchases at Amazon. My trades are still underway, but I didn't buy anything new. And now the six-months has begun. We'll see how this goes.

Near the post office we stopped at Specialty's Bakery to pick up sandwiches for a picnic lunch. Then back to my place where we got in my car and drove down to the park on Lake Washington at the end of Madison--I don't know what it's called. We sat on a park bench a few feet from the lake with a view of Mt. Rainier, Mercer Island, the 520 bridge and the rest of the East Side. It was gorgeous. We ate our sandwiches and then pulled out books to read for a while, alternating between actual reading and being amused by the birds, the dogs, and children in the park. He lay with his head in my lap most of the time. We stayed until the sun went down behind the hill and then went back to my place. We snuggled back into the couch and watched a DVD on my laptop, "Without Limits," the story of Steve Prefontaine. Buzz lent it to us months ago, unsolicited, to inspire us to run well for our last half-marathon. We decided we'd better finally watch it and give it back to him. It was actually pretty good. Lolo didn't stay awake through the whole thing (although most of it) so after it ended we went to bed, even though it was only seven. Lolo was asleep immediately, it took me a few hours.

That's all we did, yet it was absolutely fantastic. We talked a little about looking for apartments and he's promised to do research into it this week. We got up at four today and I got ready for work, and he left at 5:30 when I did, but he's coming back tonight. I'm a very happy girl.

One Good Thing: I set up a dinner date with Butiki for tomorrow
Song of the Day: Bring Him Home - John Owen-Jones
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->