Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Upgrading is simple

2006-10-15 - 8:47 a.m.

I'm writing this on Lolo's computer. I'm thinking soon I'm going to tell him about it. Not that I'm going to start letting him read it, but that I'm going to tell him of its existence. I think he knows I have something like this, but even if he does know, maybe it would be good if I told him.

We've decided where we're going to live. We haven't filled out the paperwork and made it official, but I think we've decided. The other day he came over to my place and told me that he doesn't want to rent a new place. He said he's getting old and renting a new place makes him feel like a college student and he doesn't want that anymore. I was surprised. What was he saying? Was he saying he didn't want to live with me after all? Or was he saying he wanted to buy a place? He's told me in the past that he doesn't want to buy until he's married. Was he about to ask me to marry him?? No, of course not. After a bit of prodding he explained that he felt that if we got a 2-bedroom apartment in my place or his place then it would feel like we were moving in together instead of getting a new place. I don't really feel the distinction, but if he does, that's ok with me. We inquired in our own buildings and discovered that both our buildings will have vacancies. The difference, mainly, is that in my downtown building base rent is $1600 whereas in his building base rent is $1080. Also, we like the floor plan for the apartment in his building better. So we decided to move to his building. But... I'm really going to miss downtown. I'm going to miss being able to walk to everything. Miss walking to work. Miss coming home during lunch. I keep trying to tell myself it's not a big deal, those things. Actually, besides work, most things that I would want to walk to are closer here than they were there. There's a Safeway kitty-corner to this building and there's a Tully's downstairs in this same building. There's a post office a few blocks away and Lolo says there's a library nearby although I haven't seen where that is yet. But I won't be able to walk to Pike's Place Market and I won't be able to walk down to the waterfront. On the other hand, when was the last time I did that anyway? I used to do it all the time, but I haven't done it since August when my family was here visiting.

Yesterday I made up my mind to ask my parents' permission to move in with Lolo. I called them at home, no answer. So I called my Dad's cell phone. My brother picked up. I thought I'd dialed the wrong number--hard to do when I had just punched in "Dad's Cell" but who knows? Turns out my brother is there in Sacramento visiting my parents. I didn't even know. For some reason I feel totally offended that nobody told me. Was it a secret? Or just that when their precious son is around there's no room for thoughts of their lump daughter? Anyway, he passed me off to my mom because my dad was driving. And we chatted a little bit, but they were busily enjoying themselves on a drive up to Apple Hill and didn't really want to talk to me, so I didn't bring anything up. Now I feel like I don't want to ask them after all. I probably shouldn't feel that way. They didn't know I had something important to me to talk about.

One Good Thing: Morning sex
Song of the Day: Cowboy Take Me Away - Dixie Chicks
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->