Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


You know they are smiling

2006-10-23 - 8:54 a.m.

Autumnal Corridor

I have today off from work. It was nice, I got to sleep in. Too bad Lolo has to work. I was thinking of going for a hike today, but then I got lazy and Lolo didn't really want me to go alone anyway, so I decided not to. Plus, I have other things I need to do. I need to go to the post office and the library, when they open. I'm going to cook dinner tonight, but I have no food in my apartment, so I need to go grocery shopping. I need to write an intent to vacate letter to my apartment manager. And I need to clean, and maybe pack a little. It's amazing how much junk I have. It's only been two years, how did I accumulate so much? Actually, I'm not too bad on junk, I mostly just have papers I need to go through and throw away and boxes of stuff that's still in boxes from last time I moved that obviously I don't need.

I think maybe I've been complaining about Lolo a bit too much here lately. It's just that here is really the only place I can safely vent those feelings and thoughts. Anything positive I can say straight to him, and I do. So please, don't think for a moment that I'm not head over heels for Lolo or that he's not absolutely my most favorite thing in the world.

This weekend I was lead pharmacist on day shift both days. Lolo had to work MS3 which he hates and which is a much more difficult shift than the one I was working, so I was feeling a little guilty about it. Yesterday, my 8 was O'Malley. At 8:45 he still hadn't shown up to work, so I gave him a call at home. Poor guy hadn't realized he was scheduled to work. What a way to ruin a weekend. He stopped by a bakery and bought huge, delicious donuts for us on his way in to apologize for being late. Mmmm...almost made it worth having to do all the work myself for an extra hour and half.

Also yesterday I exerted my lead-ly power for the first time. I'm usually very easy-going and laid back, but perhaps the fact that my back up pharmacist wasn't there made me a little more edgy. It was about 8:15 and I was noticing that the 7am call up was still sitting on the shelves waiting to be delivered. I looked around for my zone techs and saw them chatting away over in a little out of the way cubby hole on the other side of purchasing. Understandable since one had been on vacation for the past two or three weeks, but still, there's a job to do. So I finished up what I was working on and then ambled over there. I just kinda leaned against the wall and folded my arms and said cheerily as if I was joining in the conversation, "Hi guys." It was amazing the reaction I got. "Oh, sorry!" "Oh! We'll go deliver now!" and they immediately ran off to do their jobs. I never realized cracking the whip was so easy. Actually, only one of them ran off and did her job, the other one acted like she was going to, but then got side-tracked and started talking to one of my triage technicians. I got up to check a few things from the IV room and then on my way back to my computer I walked by and gave her shoulder a quick squeeze. "Ok, Euc! I'll go deliver! I've been gone a long time, I need to talk!" I told her I don't care if she talks, as long as she gets her work done too. It was amazing, that was the last time I had to be pushy yesterday.

One of the 1530 pharmacists who came in to relieve me at the end of the day yesterday was Kitten. She mentioned the Seattle Marathon to me again, she's been trying to get me to do it with her (she says marathon, but I'm pretty sure she means half-marathon), so I had to tell her that I wouldn't be able to because I'm busy that weekend. I told her I'm moving in with Lolo. It was kind of exciting: the first person in Seattle I've told.

After work, Lolo and I walked down to the theater and saw "Marie Antionette." It was ok. Slow, but great costumes. I think I will forever be jealous of Kirsten Dunst's legs. Then we split a personal pizza for dinner and headed back to my place for the night. Too bad Lolo has to work today.

Exit Here

One Good Thing: All day, no work
Song of the Day: Feed the Birds - Mary Poppins
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->