Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


When your heart is just a mystery

2005-11-15 - 5:08 p.m.

Last Wednesday I flew down to LA. Tigger picked me up from the airport and we spent that afternoon and evening together. We didn't do anything too special, just talked and ate, but it was so good to see her again. I hadn't seen her since last December. I spent the night at her place but Thursday afternoon she had to go to school so she drove me over to Anaheim where I checked into my parents' hotel room. My parents weren't due to arrive until 9-ish, so I had a good 9 hours to kill. I walked down the street and spent the afternoon reading, people-watching, and eating in Downtown Disney. When it started to get dark I walked back to the hotel and spent a couple of hours in the gym there. We went to bed pretty much right after my parents arrived--they had driven down from Sacramento after getting off from work. The three of us spent Friday in Disneyland and Saturday Tigger joined us there too. We had a whole lot of fun. Sunday morning my parents dropped me off at the airport on their way home. I flew out of Burbank so they wouldn't have to drive downtown to get me to LAX, but that meant I had to connect in San Francisco. Lolo picked me up from the airport in Seattle and took me out to dinner. I totally missed him while I was gone. I love the fact that I miss him.

Later that evening I went out and played some volleyball. One of the pharmacy interns in my pharmacy plays volleyball and she asked me to sub on her team last week. I was a little worried because it had been so long since I'd played ball, I thought I would be really rusty. In fact, it was almost a year to the day that I sprained my ankle at that last open gym in Sac. I played at an open gym in Ballard once back at the beginning of last February, but it wasn't fun so I didn't go back. Anyway, I'm not fantastic, but I'm not as bad as I feared I might be. And I had a lot of fun--all the team members were very nice and the level of play was appropriate for me. They asked me to come back again to sub the following week. I was tired from all the traveling, but I was still relatively ok. And the best part is that now they've asked me to be a real member of the team. Hooray!

I've started training in the CCU at work. So far I'm really liking it. Today was my third day of training--I'm scheduled for two weeks of it. Honestly, I wish I wasn't scheduled for so much. I've been working fairly regularly in tele recently, and there's not much difference between the two services. I mean, CCU patients are much more complicated than tele patients and CCU rounds last 5+ hours whereas tele rounds last for 15 minutes, but it's the same basic concept. Other than knowing where to go and when, there's nothing really new to be trained on. I just need experience and self-confidence--neither of these things can I get very easily with someone else hanging over me making me nervous.

There have been lots of rumors at work recently. When Lolo told Kitten that he is dating me, Kitten told him that she had heard a rumor that he was dating one of the techs. Later Lolo told me that he was confronted about a rumor that he was dating one of our interns (the intern I play volleyball with). This intern happens to have the same first name as the tech from the previous rumor, so it was probably just one rumor that got garbled. The first time I played volleyball with this intern another teammate brought up the subject of boyfriends and the intern said she has had a boyfriend (not named Lolo) for 3 months. So I said, "Oh? There's a rumor going around at work that you're dating Lolo!" She said, "Really? I heard a rumor that he's dating you!" Uh-oh...I wonder how that started? Did someone see us together? This intern and I actually look quite a bit alike (both tall and blonde, although she's taller and skinnier), so it's possible that these three rumors are all one fragmented rumor. Then last week Lolo was telling me that Buzz was trying to convince him that he should ask me out. How funny is that? And today, while I was there (!), another of our pharmacists said she wanted to set him up with a friend of hers and asked him if he'd be amenable. It's funny how all of a sudden everyone at work seems to think that Lolo needs a girlfriend. What's the deal with that? I have to admit to feeling some jealousy about all this, even though I know there's nothing in it.

One Good Thing: My bills are all payed for the month...
Song of the Day: Keeping the Faith - Mary Chapin Carpenter
One Year Ago Today: In the reading room

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->