Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


When I'm a firecracker coming undone

2006-11-30 - 8:01 p.m.

It's official: Lolo and I are living together. I technically have slightly less than four hours left in my old apartment and I still have a few small things there I need to pack up or throw away tonight after work, but everything else is in our new place. Lolo turned in the keys to his old place yesterday. Tonight is our first night in our new place.

Lolo's step dad works for a trucking company so this morning he was able to bring over a fifteen-foot truck and we loaded up everything I had that wouldn't fit in my Corolla and moved it to our new place. That was such a help having him there. The extra muscle, the extra direction. We got the keys to our new place Tuesday morning, actually, and since then we've been moving. I had already been moving my stuff from my place to his since his old place is in the same building as our new place. To get to our place from his place we had to go straight down a hall, take an elevator down to the lobby, go across the lobby to the other elevator, go up that elevator to another hall, and move around three corners to our doorway. All week I've been working to midnight then getting up and moving all morning. I'm so tired. Lolo had some really heavy stuff to move. I'm sore and covered in bruises. But we're moved!

Love is not saying "I told you so" even when you were totally right. Lolo insisted that since he was only moving within his building, he didn't need to pack his stuff. He has a big laundry basket and he wanted to just throw loose items in the basket and move loads that way. I told him I thought it would be better if he packed stuff up, he insisted that was a waste of time. Yesterday he had the day off but I had to work at 3:30. We spent the entire morning moving stuff that needed more than one person (including a 2-ton table and a monster of a couch) and then I went to work and he moved the rest using the laundry basket method. When he came over last night after midnight telling me what an awful experience it had been, it took all my will power to just sympathize and not say "I told you so."

In my previous entry I said that I had woken up to the sound of rain. I was mistaken. When I went outside, it was snowing. I took pictures of people running the Seattle Marathon in the snow. Then it didn't really stop snowing. Then it got colder so that the snow stuck. In Seattle, this is a big deal. Snow is something of a rarity, especially snow that sticks for more than a day. And then it snowed again last night. This definitely didn't help my moving worries. Would Lolo's step dad be able to make it to my place with the truck in the snow? Would we be able to make it to our new place? Ack! So much stress! But we're moved now.

Except we're definitely not moved in. Everything has pretty much just been dumped in our apartment. The bed went in the master bedroom (although we haven't actually decided if we're going to use the master bedroom as the bedroom or the other bedroom), most of the kitchen stuff went in the kitchen, but other than that, nothing is in its place. Most big furniture went in the living and everything smaller went in the second bedroom which may or may not end up as the office. We have a whole lot of work ahead of us. And I'm tired and I don't want to deal with it. Luckily, I have tomorrow off (although Lolo doesn't), so I can sleep in and then hopefully feel up to doing some unpacking and rearranging.

Except, wait, did I say sleep in? No, that can't happen. Have I mentioned the fact that our new apartment is under construction? That's part of the reason it's so cheap there. They're redoing the outside of the building which means that a) our building is wrapped in plastic so we can't see out the windows and b) they start hammering on the walls at 7:30 in the morning or something crazy like that. Hopefully this won't drive me completely crazy.

And finally, the cable guy comes in a week to hook up our cable in the new apartment. Until then, I won't have internet access anywhere except work. Boo!

One Good Thing: I'm moved!
Song of the Day: You Save Me - Kenny Chesney
One Year Ago Today: You can use my skin

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->