Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Stay away from my window

2005-12-07 - 1:18 p.m.

I've been thinking a lot lately about birth control pills. You know what? I know nothing about them. I mean, I know their chemical structures and mechanism of action and all that wonderful stuff that nobody really needs to know, and I know their side effects and what to do if you miss a dose, but I feel like I don't know any really practical stuff about them. Like which one I should take, for example. So I was hoping that some of you girls out there (or guys, I suppose, if you happen to have any insight on the matter) have any recommendations. Do any of you have any advice?

The one thing that worries me about taking oral contraceptives is the whole breast cancer issue. I have a very strong family history of breast cancer. It's highly likely that I'm going to develop at some point. My mom was diagnosed with it in her 40's so really it's not too far off. Do oral contraceptives increase the risk of breast cancer? The studies that say that they do were all done back in the old days when oral contraceptives came in much higher dosages. They're supposed to be much safer these days, but who really knows?

So of course I'm thinking of other forms of contraception. Like IUD's. I always thought those seemed so convenient. You get one placed and you're good to go for like five years. They can cause more cramping, but my cramps have really eased up in my old age (heh heh). They used to be completely debilitating--I literally could do nothing, not even think, because the pain was so intense. Now I sometimes go through months with no pain at all. But...I feel silly saying this, but it seems impractical at the moment...I mean...it's a little too long-term. I may be wanting kids before five years are up. Anyway, there are other things too, but it seems as though at least starting with the pill is probably still the way to go.

One Good Thing: I felt better running around the lake today than yesterday and did it a minute faster, too!
Song of the Day: Sometimes When We Touch - Rod Stewart
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->