Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Situated on top

2006-12-12 - 11:35 a.m.

On my way to work this morning, during the six blocks between my bus stop and my hospital, I got completely soaked. I was wearing a raincoat, but it was too windy for the umbrella and my pants got soaked through. They were kind of thin and were sticking to me and disgusting so I headed upstairs to the OR and changed into scrubs. Better, but we don't usually wear scrubs on the floor. Especially not with a lab coat. I look like a medical intern wannabe. And the funny thing is, by the time Blanche got to work today (an hour and a half later), she said that she hadn't even had to turn on her windshield wipers during her commute this morning and as I look out the window now, all I see is blue sky.

The cohabitation thing continues to go well. I've been working OT and Lolo hasn't been working at all. Apparently, before we started going places together, Lolo rarely took vacation. He has a ton saved up. I, on the other hand, use all of mine the moment I get it. I have no vacation time in the bank. Lolo has decided that there's no point in him having more vacation time than I have since he's never going anywhere without me, so he's busily using all of his up right now, just staying home and working on getting our apartment in order. My opinion is that he should save it for when he needs it, but he didn't think so, and who am I to disagree? At any rate he's been very sweet, getting up to have breakfast with me at five in the morning, going to bed with me before nine, even though he's on vacation. I wonder how long this will last.

Our apartment continues to get better. I finally got my desk all put together which means that I could finally move my computer out of the kitchen and onto my desk. Things are still a mess though, and the worst part is that it's getting to be that a larger and larger percentage of the mess is mine. To be expected since I'm always at work and he's always at home, but still. It's so tempting to just take some of those boxes that are piled around and chuck them in the dumpster. Do I really need them? I've survived for a week so far without them. I'm going to try to have a really low throw-away threshold when I unpack...whenever that will be. I'm working all the rest of this week and then Friday after work we're flying to Sacramento for Christmas.

We're going to be in Sacramento from late on the 15th through midway through the 19th. I'm really excited about it. Lolo is coming and my brother and his wife are coming and of course my parents will be there. It's going to be incredibly crowded in my parents' little house, but I think we'll get along just fine. Plus, I'm taking Lolo down to Stockton one day to meet a few of my college friends. It turns out that only Deenpo, Tigger, and Doodle can make it, but that's better than nothing. I wish Flick was going to be there, but she'll still be in New York at that time.

You know, sometimes I almost forget that Lolo and I aren't married already. I feel like we are. In my head I sometimes think of him as my husband. We haven't even discussed marriage yet, though. Last night, as we were laying in bed waiting for sleep, I said to him, "Did you know that Megan got engaged?" I had actually intended to not bring this topic up because I didn't want to pressure him in any way, but this just popped out of my mouth last night. "Yeah," he said, "I knew that." "Did you know that she didn't get a ring?" "Oh? Why not?" "She said she's not really a ring person. She didn't want one." I thought that was awesome--that's exactly what I want--no ring! I told him I thought it was cool, but I didn't really say why because I didn't want to pressure him. I'm not entirely sure he got that I was hinting that he doesn't need to buy me an engagement ring. But I think he might've. We lay there in silence for a little while and then he said smiling, "Yesterday you gave us grandchildren." For Christmas we're giving our parents and grandparents framed pictures of us. I was busily putting the pictures in the frames and as I was doing that I was labeling the back of the pictures. He asked me why I was writing on the back of the pictures since nobody would see it there and everybody we're giving them to knows who we are anyway. I said something like, "So in a hundred years our great-grandchildren will know who we are." He just laughed at the time, but I guess now he knows, at least, what direction my mind is headed.

One Good Thing: Blue sky
Song of the Day: Amarillo Sky - Jason Aldean
One Year Ago Today: Thinking up ways to take up less space

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->