Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


We'll hitchhike, bus, or yellow cab it

2005-12-27 - 2:49 p.m.

One of the things I don't like about Christmas is the whole gift-giving thing. I think I've mentioned this before--somehow to me it always ends up feeling like a bit of a competition to see who can give the best gifts. Maybe I just feel this way because mine are never the best. I don't think the reason for this is that I'm cheap, I think it's more of a case of lacking imagination.

I went into Christmas thinking I'd done pretty well in the gift-buying arena. After seeing all the gifts I received, I think maybe not so much. But I didn't want anything special! Lolo gave me way too much. He gave me a scarf, mittens, hat and slippers, a really nice blanket, and a deluxe version of scrabble. Really I would've been happy with just the scarf. I didn't expect nearly so much. I sort of thought I set the standards fairly low with the birthday presents I gave him...and also I mentioned to him that I wasn't into gifts very much, hoping that he would agree to just skip it with me. But no.

Then there's my brother. He gave my parents an $8000 custom-built camping trailer. I gave them CDs and books and shirts and the like. What, am I really going to compete with that? And then he gave me a couple of really cool gizmos. He gave me a GPS that you wear on your wrist that does a bunch of really neat stuff for you when you run or bike. He also gave me a Delphi XM radio with all the trimmings (car/house/portable hookups). What did I give him? Yeah, I'm sure you can imagine. It wasn't exactly comparable.

Tonight Lolo and I are going to see the Nutcracker. That should be fun. He's coming over to my place an hour after work and unfortunately my apartment is still really messy. It seems like every time I put something away, two more things jump out. And I've been spending my free time playing with my new gadgets...and staying up late playing with them so I'm really sleepy today. I kind of have this positive feedback loop thing going on where if I'm really sleepy in the morning then I move more slowly and then don't have time for my usual caffeine intake and end up even sleepier. That definitely happened this morning. Lolo's spending the night tonight, so who knows how much sleep I'll get tonight.

And I can't sleep in tomorrow because I have to get up early for a doctor's appointment. Or I should say the doctor's appointment. I'm nervous. It's my very first time being seen by a doctor since my last well-baby check-up, I'm sure. I've definitely never had my girlie parts checked out. I'm actually very grateful that I will be spending tonight with Lolo, I think he will keep my mind off of tomorrow so I can be less nervous. At least I hope so. I don't think I'll be a nervous mess around him.

On Thursday I'm going to a performance of Beethoven's 9th with Lolo, Lolo's friend Butiki, and Butiki's sister H. I feel so high-faluting--the ballet on Tuesday, the symphony on Thursday--when's the opera? Anyway, though, I got an e-mail from Butiki this morning telling me that she and H have decided to wear evening gowns to the symphony. What? Evening gowns?? I was planning on wearing pants. Geesh...I don't think I even own an evening gown. I'll have to dig through my closet and see if I can find a dress or skirt I'd feel comfortable wearing. Ugh, I hate wearing dresses, and now I have to wear one next to two people in evening gowns.

Did I ever mention that I think Lolo looks like a young Mel Gibson? It turns out I'm not the only one. When I took pictures of hiim down to LA for Tigger to see, she said so without me bringing it up. Then on Christmas Eve my dad showed me a picture he had taken of Lolo at our Thanksgiving dinner. He stuck his finger over the lower half of Lolo's face and asked me who I thought he looked like because he thought Lolo looked like Mel. And apparently he had sent the picture to my aunt during an IM conversation and she had said so immediately, too (my aunt has a bit of a thing for Mel). How did I ever get lucky enough to end up with such a handsome man? I don't know, but I'm grateful every day--and not really because he's handsome, but mostly because he's him.

I went for a walk by the American River with my parents on Christmas Eve. It was beautiful and in the 70's. We passed by a bunch of oak trees with mistletoe in them. Yes, I picked a sprig and took it home with me. It's hanging in my living room now. All ready for Lolo.

One Good Thing: The Nutcracker tonight!
Song of the Day: Movin' Right Along - The Muppet Movie
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->