Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Wrapped in chocolate mint

2006-01-01 - 9:28 p.m.

I think possibly Lolo and I have just entered a new stage in our relationship. A stage in which long-term ideas no longer have to be carefully tip-toed around.

Last Tuesday at the ballet, while we were in our seats waiting for the show to begin, Lolo asked me if I had any vacation plans for the upcoming year. I told him about a possible trip to China in March to see Azuma (it's looking more and more like that's not going to work out, though) and some possible camping trips with the family in the summer. Then I asked him about his plans. He told me he'd like to travel but he doesn't really have anyone to travel with. I asked him where he'd like to go and he told me England. This was the extent of the conversation at the time. I didn't really think much of it.

Friday evening while I was at work and it was a little slow I was looking at the vacation grid that shows which days people have requested for time off. Being fairly near the bottom in seniority, I'm pretty much left with whatever days nobody else wants. I found a chunk of time at the end of September when it looks like I might be able to get time off. Then it occurred to me that I could go with Lolo to England during that time. Since the vacation block closed last night I shot him a quick e-mail asking what he thought of the idea and telling him that I was going to request the time off and he could do the same if he'd like. It didn't strike me until I was walking home that night that suggesting we go on an international trip nine months in the future might be a bit of a major step. I ended up waiting nervously for his reply. When he finally wrote back he told me that actually he had been trying to suggest something along those lines. He wrote, "Of course, then I saw the look on your face the other night at the ballet (I think I surprised you!), and thought maybe I'd jumped the gun, and I'd just bring it up sometime later..." If I was surprised it was only by the idea that he wouldn't have anyone to travel with since I didn't even realize he was suggesting anything.

Anyway, I'm really excited by this. More by the fact that planning something nine months in the future doesn't seem far-fetched than by the actual trip.

Last night, New Year's Eve, Lolo and I both worked until midnight. After work we came back to my place where I got out some sparkling cider (that Banana had given to me as a thank-you gift for switching Thanksgiving shifts with her) and we toasted in the new year a few minutes late. Lolo said next year we'd have real champagne. I jokingly told him I'd see what I could finagle Banana into and he said no he'd supply the champagne if I'd drink it (this is significant because I drink very, very rarely). I agreed and I think it made us both happy to have planned for something a year away.

Welcome 2006! The new year is here, and I think it's going to be a good one.

One Good Thing: The start of a brand new year
Song of the Day: Brass Bed - Josh Gracin
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->