Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


I was crazy once

2005-12-31 - 2:33 p.m.

I've recently been trying to compare Lolo and our relationship with the guy my ex was and the relationship we had. It's amazingly difficult to do. Other than the fact that both guys are nice and seem to like me, the are really very different. And our relationships are very different too. I wonder if that's only a product of my hazy memory and the wonderful newness of my current relationship. I tend to think not, though. It seems as though I can never get enough of Lolo. With my ex we often went much longer between rendezvous and I still wasn't as anxious to see him. With Lolo I almost always feel free to be myself (although I discovered that I'm still not comfortable enough to sing in front of him...weird), with my ex I felt like I had to always had to be careful not to embarrass myself. In my relationship with my ex I always felt like the more mature one. I was always the one who was supporting him emotionally through the trials and tribulations of pharmacy school and whatnot and I was always the one who had to call it a night and say goodbye. With Lolo I feel as though it goes both ways a lot more, possibly with him being the slightly more mature one. And Lolo is so much more willing to tolerate and even embrace my ways and ideas and to share with me instead of pushing his ways on me. Lolo always wants to learn about the things I'm interested in. And Lolo is a much better kisser and he's a lot more...creative. He likes little things like cutesy nicknames (we haven't yet come up with any that have stuck) and holding my hand--my ex hated both these things.

And then there are things I read and hear about relationships and guys that just seem to be so untrue for my relationship with Lolo. For example, I read this about why dogs are better than men (pointed out by Rachel), and I just kept thinking how it wasn't true. It didn't seem to apply at all to Lolo. And I told Azuma the other day about how I went to see Beethoven's 9th Symphony with Lolo and he said something about how that was some major girlfriend points expenditure. I asked him what he meant and he explained that if I, for example, play a video game or eat pizza with him, then I earn girlfriend points, if I take him to any music related event, I spend girlfriend points. But that just doesn't seem right either. We've never played video games together and the only time we had pizza together I brought home Hawaiian only to discover he doesn't like pineapple on his pizza. We've been to the symphony, the ballet, and a country concert. And yet I don't feel like I'm anywhere near the red in "girlfriend points." Our relationship just isn't like that. It's so much better.

One Good Thing: My first run with Herman
Song of the Day: Come a Little Closer - Dierks Bentley
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->