Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Prologue surprise

2005-12-29 - 2:58 p.m.

It turns out that the pain from a tetanus shot is not at the actual time of the injection, but later. Like that night or the following day, for example. I didn't notice it at all until I went to bed last night and rolled over on my side. And today my arm has been aching all day and there's a lovely lump at the injection site. Owie. Anyway, I won't need this again for another ten years, so I guess a little pain is ok. It's funny to think that I won't need another tetanus shot until Lolo is 40. That seems impossibly far away (and I hope I'm there for it).

Anyway, Tuesday night Lolo and I went to see The Nutcracker. I was looking forward to seeing a different interpretation of the ballet as I've only seen it done by the Sacramento Ballet. I didn't realize how different it would be. It turns out that this version was redone by Maurice Sendak, the author of the children's book "Where the Wild Things Are." I didn't know this at the time, but looking back now, it totally makes sense. The ballet was definitely a combination of these two stories. I was disappointed though because when the symphony started playing the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, there was no Sugar Plum Fairy. And there was no Mother Ginger with little children running out from under her skirt. Looking back, it seems as though it was almost more Wild Things than Nutcracker.

Tonight I'm going to see Beethoven's 9th Symphony. I hope it really is Beethoven's 9th and not some weird hybrid of it with some children's book. Beethoven's 9th meets Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs? Hmm...

Today has been a really busy day at work. I worked tele. I actually traded into it just so I could go to the symphony tonight. One of our pharmacists went home sick today so I inherited all of the warfarin teaches she needed to do but didn't. This is my last clinical shift for a while, though, unless I trade into any more. I'm on evening shifts for the next two weeks. I'm looking forward to the break. After that, though, I'm on almost all clinicals for the next four weeks. Oh man, so much for being the untrained newbie who only gets easy shifts! But this is what I wanted, right? Right.

I'm also scheduled for four shifts of training Lolo upstairs. At first I was absolutely horrified by this, but now that I've had time to get used to the idea, I don't think it'll be so bad. He'll have already had a week of training from some of the other pharmacists so there really won't be too much actual training needed. My job will mostly be to pick up any extra workload he can't handle while he's getting up to speed. When he first told me I'd be training him I said half-jokingly, "This is going to make it really hard to ignore you..." But really it'll just make it so that I don't have to ignore him, right? It'll be the perfect excuse to pay attention to him. In fact, it's a good reason that we should have lunch together, isn't it? It'll be hard to pay attention to him and not touch him, though.

Hopefully the idea of me training him won't be too weird for us. I don't think it will be though. Lolo actually only graduated from pharmacy school a year and a half ago...two years after me. He only just got his license before I started working here. You know that year of my life I wasted sitting around doing nothing? Sometimes the romantic part of me thinks that wasn't really wasted time, it was more of a case of fate doing its job. If I had been on the ball and gotten myself hired here right after I finished my residency, I would've been a full-fledged pharmacist while Lolo was still a student. I think I would have issues dating a student, because I'm weird like that. Instead I came after he was already a pharmacist and in my mind I always think of him as having more experience than I do, even though it's not true. So in the end, my wasted year allowed me to fall in love with Lolo. At the moment I'm thinking it was definitely worth it.

One Good Thing: Beethoven's 9th
Song of the Day: Window - Fiona Apple
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->