Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


The personality of a peanut

2007-01-12 - 5:04 p.m.

Although today is Friday, for me it's really Monday. Today I worked my first of five consecutive CCU shifts. I had some anxiety about going to work due to the fact I haven't worked a weekday CCU shift in months. I think it hasn't been since July. But we ended up only having five rounding patients and all of them were pretty well tuned-up from a pharmacy view-point. Minor tweaks here and there. And nothing funky happened.

I actually managed to finish all my work a bit early and spent my last few hours reading journal articles. We're changing how we do TPNs in our hospital from being ordered solely by the doctors to being ordered generally by the doctors and having the specific recipes written by the pharmacists. To prepare, all of the pharmacists have been assigned a large packet of reading material regarding TPN. Happily, we will receive some CE credit for completing all this material, but it means that I've been putting off doing it. We have to have a certain amount of CE each year to maintain our pharmacist licenses and the year resets on our birthdays. We complete more CE before my birthday when I already have enough? So I put it all off until after my birthday...which means I'm a bit behind.

But I had a few hours to work on it today and I came across a sentence in the reading, from a fairly highly regarded source, that totally cracked me up. It says, "It is estimated that 40-100% of patients receiving chronic PN may have some degree of bone demineralization." So, in other words, we know for sure that 0-60% of patients certainly do not have any degree of bone demineralization. It's possible that nobody doesn't have it. It's possible that most people may have it. It's also possible that most people may not have it. And, if they have it, they have it really bad. Or not.

In other news, I got a call from the tech guy at CompUSA where I took my laptop that wasn't booting up. Can you guess what he said? He said it booted up just fine every time for him. With the battery, without the battery, whatever. As far as he's concerned it's "fixed" and I can go pick it up. What the heck? I tried it for days and it wouldn't do a darn thing. I would've gone to pick it up, but the roads are way too icy to be driving up to Mountlake Terrace to get it.

And speaking of cold, temperatures outside never got above freezing today so much of the ice and snow from two days ago is still there. I'll leave with a picture a took on my street yesterday a few blocks east of my building, looking south towards downtown.

City view

One Good Thing: I survived my CCU shift without incident!
Song of the Day: Missing You - John Waite and Alison Krauss
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->