Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Over sand and stone

2007-01-23 - 12:56 p.m.

I'm totally addicted to that game, Oblivion. It's horrible. This is the reason I don't play computer games. I swear, every free moment I have I spend playing the game. I spend other times planning my next move. I dream about the game. I think I'm playing to excess, yet my plan is to play as soon as get home. And to keep playing until I have to go to bed. And then maybe a few hours after that. This is just so wrong. I joined the Thieve's Guild, the Fighter's Guild, and the Dark Brotherhood (the assassins), so I have a lot of projects going on. I have trouble deciding which one I'm going to do next and sometimes get totally distracted and run off doing something else entirely. The only guild I didn't join is the Mage's Guild. It's interesting because Lolo is probably as addicted to the game as I am and the Mage's Guild is the only guild he did join. We seem to do totally different things. It's like we're playing different games. Which makes it even cooler.

I recently heard from Butiki and we're making plans to go snowboarding together in a couple of weeks. Lolo has no desire to go with us. I wouldn't say Lolo has a complete lack of a sense of adventure, but his idea of adventure is certainly more restrictive than mine. He doesn't see anything fun about strapping things to your feet and hurling yourself down a mountain. I told him I thought he should try it again (since he hasn't skied since he was a kid), but he doesn't think so. This may be one of the biggest bones of contention between us. Me wanting to do things and him not wanting to. For example, we're going to Hawaii in March. I'm thinking, "Woo-hoo! Hawaii! Snorkeling! Surfing! Parasailing!" while he's thinking, "Woo-hoo! Hawaii! Lounge chair!" I can't really go snorkeling, surfing, parasailing or anything like that by myself so I'm a little worried that I'm going to be in Hawaii not enjoying myself and by extension he won't be enjoying himself either. We may have to work pretty hard to make that work out. Another example is me wanting to do the STP and him not wanting to. I don't think I can very well do that by myself either, although I may try.

This Friday Lolo is finally having his wisdom teeth removed. They're all impacted so they have to put him completely out to remove them surgically. I didn't realize they use propofol for that sort of thing. It seems so extreme. So I'm going to be spending this weekend taking care of an invalid. I hope it doesn't go too hard for him. Or for me either. I'm not a nurse and think I wasn't endowed with much motherly instinct either. Hopefully he'll tell me what he wants and not make me try to guess too much.

Tomorrow we (the scheduling team) are going to have a meeting to decide who gets approved for vacation during the next vacation block. Being new to the team, I never realized before that they actually had meetings about this sort of thing. I wonder if being a part of the team will have any influence over whether or not I get the days off that I requested. I kind of doubt it. I think they have strict guidelines already set out for who gets what, but I don't really know. Anyway, after tomorrow I should know whether or not Lolo and I will get the time off we requested to go to Iceland. I'm so hoping we will. Please please please please please.

Did I tell you I got a new camera? I did. Fed-Ex brought it to my door Saturday evening. I spent the rest of the evening playing with it and haven't touched it since. Too busy. Mostly playing that game. But Sunday I wasn't. We slept in a bit Sunday and then went out to breakfast and then went to the opera matinee. I had never been to the opera before so Lolo got me tickets to go see Don Giovanni for Christmas. Do any of you know much about that opera? Honestly, I was a little disappointed. I know the point of the thing is the music, so I expected the plot to not be overly deep or fast-moving, but somehow I wasn't too impressed with the music either. I mean, it was good, but it wasn't catchy. I can't hum a single tune from it because none of them stuck in my mind. Also odd, was the decision of the opera company to go with minimalist sets (I always imagine elaborate sets for operas) and to set the time ambiguously in the 20th century. They rode motorcycles and dueled with swords. It was just odd. There were flapper dresses, poodle skirts, and white disco suits all in the same scene. Odd. By the audience's reaction (since I'd imagine that most of the audience were more experienced opera-goers than I) I judged that this wasn't a very good example of opera. It was like a blow-out baseball game--people started leaving before it was over. And I was afraid when the cast came out for their third round of bowing that they wouldn't get off the stage before the applause stopped. It just wasn't well received. So I've decided I'll have to go to another one. Maybe La Boheme, says this Rent Head.

But yes, Sunday was busy with opera and football so I didn't get much of a chance to play with my camera. And then yesterday I had to work and play Oblivion and today more work (can't you tell? I'm at work working hard right now) and I'm sure I'll play more game when I get home. I'm not sure when I'll actually take my camera out for a real test run. Maybe this weekend while Lolo is convalescing.

One Good Thing: No matter decentralized shifts this week!
Song of the Day: Long Trip Alone - Dierks Bentley
One Year Ago Today: No entry! :-(

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->