Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Day 2

2002-08-26 - 9:31 p.m.

I made it back for day two. I have to admit I haven't really gotten this site figured out yet and it's making me feel pretty stupid. Why doesn't the background change colors when I ask it to? I have no idea. Oh well, no matter.

I've been working on this self-hypnosis thing (because I don't think I'd ever get up the nerve to actually tell someone I want to try to hypnotize them) and last night I actually had a breakthrough. Really. I do it while I'm lying in bed. First I just try to relax myself. Up until last night, that's as far as I had gotten. But last night I told myself that I couldn't feel my legs, and then I couldn't. It was like there was nothing below my waist. It was pretty cool. So I thought that since I had gotten that far I would continue on to the next step, which is to give myself suggestions for ways that I will improve or things that I will do the next day. Well...that part isn't working yet. I don't think I accomplished any of the things I told myself to accomplish.

I was so frustrated at work today. I saw this Indian lady and her husband who was interpreting for her for a hypertension follow-up. Her blood pressure was better, but still not where we'd like it. So I saw her and basically decided that her blood pressure would come down if she would only exercise more, cook with less salt, and try harder not to forget her meds. So I told her that was my plan and I'd like to see her again in 2 months to see how she's doing. So I went to get Kevin to schedule her a new appointment. He asked me about her and pointed out the fact that I forgot about the possibility of adding on more meds or increasing the meds she's on now. What sort of freaking idiot am I? Hello, you're a pharmacist, shouldn't you think about drugs a little bit? Duh! So he convinced me to increase her HCTZ dose. I told her to start taking a whole tab instead of a half tab and I sent her on her merry way. Then Kevin noticed that she hasn't actually refilled her meds since June. She told me she missed a few doses here and there, 3 to 4 in the last two weeks she said, she didn't tell me that a 30 day supply was lasting over 60 days. So of course I can't increase her dose in case she decides suddenly to become compliant and I overdose her. So out I ran to the parking lot to try to find her. Of course I didn't. So I had to call them at home. Although Mr. Patient speaks English, it's really not his forte and on the phone it seemed even worse. He had no clue what I was talking about when I said please continue to give her half a tab instead of a whole tab and wouldn't it be nice if she took it every day? Finally he just said ok, but I could tell it was to get rid of me. I was so frustrated. That was such a waste of all of our time. And now everyone thinks I'm an idiot, including me.

Stretch called today. His grandmother died today. OK, so in a few weeks it will be prime dumping time, right? Far enough away from birthdays and funerals to be decent, right? When he called I was so bored. Bleah.

Oh, last thing before bed. Today I ran for 30 minutes (because I was short on time) and went 2.68 miles. I was sweating like crazy. And also I told Spike today that I was going to the gym and I think he was impressed. Spike is like this totally ripped guy I work with. He's one of the county's dieticians. He's Mitch's cousin, but looks nothing like him. Anyway, very good looking guy who seems to enjoy talking to me. Which makes me enjoy it too. Although Spike is not my type. I enjoy going googly-eyed over his rippling muscles, but that's about it. I guess he's just too short. And Asian. Asian guys just don't do much for me. Except Foo. Anyway...it's way past my bedtime.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->