Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Do you want to have lunch after?

2002-09-05 - 6:45 p.m.

Ok, so you're coming here to read this thinking its just going to be the same old thing. She thinks she's stupid, she's dissatisfied with her current work situation, and she's also dissatisfied with her current boyfriend situation. But wait! Today what's on my mind is actually different than all that! Today something happened. Today I think I need some more advice. If not advice, at least a little interpretation.

Ok, so remember Spike, the dietician? The totally ripped Asian dude at work? Yeah, well, ok, today I worked with him again. Not really with him but we were in the same medical office. A couple of times between patients he came over to my desk and started up conversations with me. The first time he asked me what I was doing for lunch. I said I'd brought it, I would just eat there. The second time he came by he asked me if I was still running, where, and how much. The third time he came by he asked me what I was reading. Then actually showed an interest in it. Started discussing neanderthals and evolution with me. The fourth time he came by he asked me if I wanted to go running with him this weekend. I searched wildly for an excuse, mostly because I'm lazy as hell. Finally I said, "I wouldn't be able to keep up with you!" He said, "Oh? How long does it take you to do your 5k?" I told him 38 minutes (yeah on a good day!). He said, "That's, what, a 9...10..." "That's a 12 minute mile," I helped him. "Oh, well, you want to go this Saturday?" he brushed that aside. I finally decided to stop being asocial, "OK, where?" He suggested some bike trails up near the lake by my home. We agreed to a place and I asked him when. He said, "Early in the morning so it won't be too hot? What time do you get up on Saturdays?" I told him I'm usually up around 7 or 8 on weekends. He laughed and said, "How about 10?" So anyway, we exchanged phone numbers and he said he'd call me Saturday to confirm everything. Then he said, "Do you want to have lunch after?" I think I must've have communicated my surprise very effectively through my facial expression because before I could respond he quickly said, "Ok, ok, we'll talk about that Saturday," and left. My actual surprise at the question was only because I was imagining me hot, nasty, and dripping with sweat after the run and not particularly wanting to take that into any sort of eating establishment.

It only occurred to me after he had left that there is a possibility that he didn't intend for this to be purely a friendly jogging adventure. But then again maybe he did and now I'm blowing it clear out of proportion. That's where I need the interpretation, was this more than friendly? For starters, I'm not interested in him in any way beyond friendly. He's just not my type. And I can't imagine that I'm his type. He's shorter than me and Asian and also he takes great pains to make sure he's looking good all the time. He always wears nice clothes, his hair is always perfect, and he's ripped. Someone who is into looks for himself is more than likely into looks in his women. Someone who is into looks in his women would not be into me. But at the same time, Mr. Muscles has just offered to drive 25 miles to jog with a girl who runs a 12 minute mile. And then asked to eat lunch with her afterwards. He's also a lot older than me (I think, I don't really know how old he is). I'm always being mistaken for older than I am at work due to the fact that I bypassed several years of schooling. Not that age particularly matters. And also, I have a boyfriend. He doesn't know I have a boyfriend. Although I may be considering breaking up with my boyfriend, I am not considering cheating on him. I may have my eyes open, but that's not the same thing.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->