Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Day 14

2002-09-06 - 8:00 p.m.

Today I set a new personal best for my 5k. Yes, 3.1 miles in 34:38. For those of you who are wondering, that's an 11.17 minute mile. I ran 2.5 miles before having to slow to a walk for a bit. Mostly I'm just hoping to not make too much of a fool of myself tomorrow.

I showed up 2 minutes late to work today in an effort to miss the staff meeting at Del Paso. I was successful in that, but it backfired somewhat. Nobody had put out the refills for me to do. So I had nothing to do the whole time the staff meeting was going on. And then when they did bring out some refills, they brought out a huge stack. And ten minutes later they brought out a second huge stack. And then a few hours later they brought out a third one. I managed to get all but 5 or 6 done. Plus I saw two patients. One was there for diabetes education. The other was there for hypertension and diabetes follow-up. Only somehow she managed to get her lancets, strips, and swabs without getting her meter or insulin and syringes. But she claimed to be taking insulin. Which freaks me out. How can she be taking insulin without a meter? That's just scary. Of course, to make things better, she didn't speak English. She had her brother there translating and English wasn't really his thing either. And even better than that, I saw her right before lunch, so by the time I was ready to ask a doctor to look at her sore foot and to call the pharmacy to see what was up with her meter, everyone was at lunch. So I sent the patient home and told her to make a walk-in appointment for her foot and go to the pharmacy around 4 or 5 to pick up her stuff after I had had time to sort everything out. The brother gave me his cell phone number in case there was a change of plans. Anyway, I finally got through to the pharmacy and was passed around to 6 or 7 people before someone finally gave me a straight answer. So after all that I gave the brother a call just to let him know. He said "Oh, I already picked up the meter and the insulin and syringes." Argh! Thanks a lot, buster!

Bleah, I'm not in the mood for this now. Stretch called. I feel crappy. Good night.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->