Current entry
Random entry
Archives

Cast

Guestbook
Notes

Currently reading:

Read and Release at BookCrossing.com...

The view

Diaryland


Admissions Day

2002-09-09 - 8:41 p.m.

"We had a conversation!" We did? You talked for an hour and my ear got sore, how is that a conversation? Some people really suck. Ergh!

But anyway...actually, several things of varying degrees of interest happened today. Here they are in no particular order.

I ran 5k without slowing to a walk. Yahoo! So that's a new personal best of 33:55. Plus after I was done, I walked for a minute or so and then continued to run until 40:00. Unfortunately, I seem to be falling apart. First of all, my toe is worse. It didn't hurt at all today while I was running. But when I got undressed to shower I looked down and my toe was worse. The purple is darker and now it is spreading from under the toenail. Plus, the toenail is now loose. I prodded it a bit to try to get an understanding of the extent of the damage and its been hurting ever since. I just don't understand what the problem is. Why doesn't it hurt while I run? And why is it turning purple in the first place? The other problem is that my knees are starting to hurt me. I noticed it for the first time last Wednesday. When I got on the treadmill every step hurt. That continued for about 3-4 minutes before they got warmed up and stopped hurting. This happens every time now. I always start out my runs with a pained-knee waddle. It's lovely. And lastly, my stomach is still bothering me. As I was running today I wasn't sure if I was going to make it the whole time or if I was going to have to make a mad dash for the bathroom. Bleah. I'm not old enough to be falling apart like this!

Today at work I started at a new clinic. From now until June I'm spending half a day every week at the family practice clinic. So I spent this morning at the family practice clinic. And yes, I did it without my helpful residency director. Since it is a teaching hospital, the medical residents see the patients and then present the patients to their preceptor for approval/advice. So my job is to sit with the preceptor and chime in on drug issues or answer questions. I was able to answer about half the questions. I have an extensive list of things I don't know, but should look up. For example, have you ever heard of giving lidocaine intranasally for migraines? I sure haven't. I need to look that one up. I recently heard of giving lidocaine through a nebulizer for cough suppression, I thought that was sort of interesting. Only lidocaine can cause asthma attacks so it should be given with albuterol. The other drawback is that it is not uncommon for people to be allergic to lidocaine. In the afternoon I had project time.

The last thing that happened to me today was that I received a rather interesting and...heartening e-mail. It's so cool to find someone who seems to have so much in common with me, but enough difference to keep life interesting. I was once accused of not omitting from this journal the little facts I just don't want to share with the world. I hope I don't lower anyone's opinion of me, but of course I omit little facts I don't want to share with the world. How could I not? I tend to be an all or nothing type of person. If I'm going to discuss a topic then I'm going to say everything I have to say about it. If I'm not going to say it all, I'd rather not discuss it in the first place.

Oh, and I almost forgot. Happy Admissions Day! Let me take this moment to salute the 152nd anniversary of California's statehood. Hee hee, remember when this used to be a holiday worthy of the closure of banks? Ah, the good ol' days.

One Good Thing:
Song of the Day:
One Year Ago Today:

8 weeks, 3 days
2012-04-05
8 weeks, 1 day
2012-04-03
6 weeks, 4 days
2012-03-23
6 weeks, 2 days
2012-03-21
5 weeks, 6 days
2012-03-18

<--older // newer-->